Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello. I want to buy a laptop, and it will be my main PC for the coming years. I don't want to spend more than 1000 euros, and preferably less. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question Is this 64 bit processor laptop good for me?

Hello.

I want to buy a laptop, and it will be my main PC for the coming years. I don't want to spend more than 1000 euros, and preferably less.

I saw a laptop with a 64 bit processor that is well within this range:

HP Pavilion ZE2345 AMD Turion 3000+ 64 bit/2x256MB DDR/60GB/15"TFT (XGA)/ATI Xpress 200M/DVD writer R/RW (DL)/6-1/56K/IEEE1394/LAN/XPH

for 640.00 EURO ex. VAT (www . acesdirect . nl).

The most resource intensive tasks it will be performing is running my self written inefficient simulation programs (coded in Matlab). Maybe I'll do some video editing/transcoding with it too.

And ofcourse I want to run Linux on it. I'm not very good at configuring and I would prefer not to spend too much time on that.

Is this 64 bit processor laptop a good one for me? Or would my money be better spend on a higher clocking speed or a larger memory?

Thanks in advance!

Regards,

Daan

The processor seems OK, but the worry for me would be the video chipset. Can you find simlar with nvidia graphics rather than ATI? The ATI drivers have been known to give some folks a headache in Linux...
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

i think there is only one turion/geforce laptop model in existence and it's very expensive. it runs a geforce go 7000 series card. i've got an acer travelmate 4651LMi, which, under SuSE is an excellent lappy, with a pentium M 1.6GHz, and a geforce go 6600. if you can, i'd recommend you get your hands on one for under 1000. best value for money laptop in existence imo.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows: