Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I am about to buy an entry level laptop dedicated to Linux. I was just wondering if it is good enough to run a new version of linux such as ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Mr.Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    11

    Is this laptop enough for Linux


    I am about to buy an entry level laptop dedicated to Linux. I was just wondering if it is good enough to run a new version of linux such as suse 10 with all the custom layout eye candy. I need the computer for casual functions... music playback, photo storage, photo editing using something photoshop-like, umm... 2d games from late 90's, instant messaging, internet and blogging. NO 3d animation and 3d games to be used. Is the computer enough to run smooth and steady?

    Averatec AV3715ED1 Notebook - AV3715-ED1



    Chipset

    # ProcessorAMD Mobile Sempron 3000+ 1.80GHz
    # Bus Speed1.60GHz PSB
    # Cache128KB L2

    Memory

    # Standard Memory512MB DDR SDRAM
    # Memory Speed333MHz DDR333/PC2700

    Storage

    # Hard Drive60GB S.M.A.R.T. Ultra ATA/100 (ATA-6)
    # Optical DriveCombo Drive - CD-RW/DVD-ROM (Integrated)
    # Optical Drive Speed24x 24x 24x CD-RW/8x DVD-ROM

    Display & Graphics

    # Display Screen12.1" XGA Active Matrix TFT Color LCD
    # Graphics ControllerVIA K8N800A Integrated
    # Display Resolution1024 x 768 Internal Support

    Audio

    # Sound CardStereo Integrated
    # SpeakersStereo Speakers Integrated


    Network

    # Wi-Fi IEEE 802.11b/g 54Mbps Mini PCI Integrated
    # Fast Ethernet IEEE 802.3 10/100Mbps Integrated
    # ModemV.92 56Kbps Integrated Fax Modem

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    absolutely!

    I have an old thinkpad t22 with 900mhz PIII, 256 RAM that runs smooth as butta.

    That's with Gentoo mind you, but the computer you listed will run SUSE great.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  3. #3
    Linux User ImNeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N. America
    Posts
    392
    Yea what he said. You shouldnt have any problems. Thats a nice looking machine - happy nuxing =)
    10" Sony Vaio SRX99P 850MHz P3-M 256MB RAM 20GB HD : ArchLinux
    14" Dell Inspiron 1420N 2GHz Core2Duo 2GB RAM 160GB HD : Xubuntu

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Like the others said, it is plenty enough.

    Some Linux distro will fly on it, others will just run smoothly.

    Maybe you want to look more in depth this WIFI card, just to make sure it is easy to configure on Linux. You can post the model of the card if you want more feedback.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #5
    Linux User Kojak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    421
    Should work well. My laptops are less powerful and run with Linux. No problems.
    Windows free since 2002 | computing since 1984

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    i have linux on a 600 mhz sony i bought 4 years ago so yes you have enough.
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    96
    Definitely. It's more that enough. I had P3 1000MHz with 192mb ram running Ubuntu just fine.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    5
    Yeah you're fine. I'm running Ubuntu 6.06 on a P3 1ghz with 384mb ram and a 20gb hard drive. Runs great

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Maybe you want to look more in depth this WIFI card, just to make sure it is easy to configure on Linux. You can post the model of the card if you want more feedback.
    i agree with antidrugue ... post the model of WIFI card ......
    except this... i dont think you gonna have any kind of problem in this book

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    What about the onboard GPU?

    I didn't think that the VIA-based ones had much support in the way of Linux...

    weed
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •