Find the answer to your Linux question:
Let me start by saying i am new to linux. Heres the problem i was given an old laptop. heres the spec gateway solo 1150 192 mb ram (thats all ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

what linux to use on my laptop

Let me start by saying i am new to linux. Heres the problem i was given an old laptop.
    heres the spec
    gateway solo 1150
    192 mb ram (thats all that will fit
    13 gig hard drive
    intel celeron 696 mhz? i think 700 mhz
    cd-rom
    floppy

I want to install linux on it because windows xp home runs really slow. but i have heard its hard to install linux on a laptop.

Oh and the last thing i use a linksys 802.11g notebook adaptor card model wpc54g ver.2 to connect to internet.

Just Joined!
    Same here I had a laptop but windows took 5 minutes to boot!, if you want a lightweight distro I would recomend ubuntu or kubuntu. Though i have suse 10.1 installed on mine but the laptop I have is only 2 years old. Both installs for kubuntu and suse are easy to do . As for the wireless there are no guarentees it will work. You will need to install the ndiswrapper.

This thread may be useful http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...ugh-linux.html

LFT
    Just Joined!

Xubuntu

Maybe try Xubuntu. Xubuntu is a lighter version of Ubuntu.

You can test Xubuntu or Ubuntu on your computer by running a live CD before you install anything.

Just Joined!
    If you have an older laptop, give consideration to installing and older (as opposed to newer) version of Linux.