Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm kinda new to the wonderful world of Linux, but unfortunately I've run into problems. Therefore I hope someone out there can help me out I have decided that I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Linux without losing data on XP-partition...

I'm kinda new to the wonderful world of Linux, but unfortunately I've run into problems. Therefore I hope someone out there can help me out

I have decided that I want to install Red Hat Linux unto my laptop (Medion 6200, 2.6GHz P4, 512 PC3200, GeForceFX Go5200, 40GB Hitachi Harddisk). This computer is my "school"-computer, and to log into my schools network I need windows XP installed. So that I have. Windows XP pro is installed upon the single partition my hard disk consists of. Also all of my notes from class, homework, project and such is on this partition so deleting this partition is our of the question. This leaves no partitions to install linux on (!).

After browsing the internet for a looong time looking for tips and advice (and figuring out that apparently no windows-based partition managers seemed to work) i decided to try my luck with a Linux-based partition manager. After browsing the net a little more it seemed that the only choice was using qtParted. I also found out that qtParted was a part of the Red Hat installation (jubii... or so I thought). So I decided to give it a shot.

I booted my laptop from the install disk. All seemed perfectly ok. I opened qtParted. Still no problem. But when the graphical display is finished loading and I click on my harddisk icon in to menu it says:

"Critical error during ped_new_disk!"

Apparently it cannot read the partition table.
    I decided to try my luck with qtParted again this time when it was not part of the Red Hat install. I tried it on the Linux system rescue cd (www.sysresccd.org) and on Knoppix. Neither of them worked, and they gave the same error.