Find the answer to your Linux question:
This is how i made my sm56 pci speakerphone modem work under Fedora core 1. Warning: U should verify what i am suggesting.Please. I am not a professional linux expert. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Sucess: Motorola SM56 PCI Speakerphone Modem In Fedora 1

This is how i made my sm56 pci speakerphone modem work under Fedora core 1.

Warning: U should verify what i am suggesting.Please. I am not a professional linux expert.

What u require:

1. Kernel 2.4.18-14 source from
    ftp://ftp.redhat.com/pub/redhat/linu...18-14.i386.rpm

(I haven't tested redhat 9.0's kernel !!!. Also kernel-2.4.22 won't work. If u are using download managers, message that site
    refuses connection might come.Keep on retrying. I used Opera web browser to get to the location
    and download accelerator plus to download the 28 MB file. In Internet explorer you are asked
    username and password. Try with 'anonymous' and passwd as your email ID. )

2. gcc-2.96-98.i386.rpm and cpp-2.96.98.i386.rpm from
    ftp://ftp.redhat.com/pub/redhat/linu...6/RedHat/RPMS/

3. binutils-2.13.90.0.2-2.i386.rpm from
    ftp://ftp.redhat.com/pub/redhat/linu...6/RedHat/RPMS/

4. motorola driver sm56-gcc3.tar.gz from www.sm56.tk download section.

Now, u have to remove your gcc, cpp, gcc-objc, gcc-c++, binutils from Fedora core 1 installation.
    Use rpm -e --nodeps *.rpm (recheck it !!!)

5. install gcc-2.96-98.i386.rpm, cpp-2.96.98.i386.rpm and binutils-2.13.90.0.2-2.i386.rpm
    use rpm -ivh --force *.rpm (recheck it !!!) if required in case of conflicts.

6. Install the source kernel-source-2.4.18-14.i386.rpm. It will be installed in ur /usr/src/ path.

7. If you have previously installed kernel-2.4.18-14, make sure u remove the source folder,also
    /lib/modules/linux-2.4.18-14 and related files in /boot .

8. Move to /usr/src/linux-2.4.18-14

now to compile the kernel:

1. make mrproper