Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Disclaimer: Do it at your own risk . Everything started with a thread I read at another forum. I have used amule without any problems and installation was via yum. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie imdeemvp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    225

    How to install LimeWire in FC3


    Disclaimer: Do it at your own risk. Everything started with a thread I read at another forum. I have used amule without any problems and installation was via yum.
    Code:
    yum install amule
    Very nice peer 2 peer but a little slow.

    I also tried GTK-Gnutella which I also installed via yum.
    Code:
    yum install gtk-gnutella
    .

    I ran into trouble when trying to install LimeWire for linux. But with the help from tchung from www.fedoranews.org. I was able to install LimeWire. This was the error I got at terminal.
    [root@myfc3 imdeemvp]# chmod +x LimeWireLinux.bin
    [root@myfc3 imdeemvp]# sh LimeWireLinux.bin
    Preparing to install...
    tail: `-1' option is obsolete; use `-n 1'
    Try `tail --help' for more information.
    LimeWireLinux.bin: line 326: [: `)' expected, found -z
    WARNING! The amount of /tmp disk space required and/or available
    could not be determined. The installation will be attempted anyway.
    Extracting the installation resources from the installer archive...
    Configuring the installer for this system's environment...
    No Java virtual machine could be found from your PATH
    environment variable. You must install a VM prior to
    running this program
    .
    TChung suggested doing this:
    I have another suggestion.
    You can create a file in /etc/profile.d/java.sh with following content:
    (Assuming you have j2re 1.4.2_06 rpm package from sun website)

    #!/bin/bash
    # Init Script for j2re 1.4.2_06
    # Drop this script in /etc/profile.d

    JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/j2re1.4.2_06
    PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH

    export JAVA_HOME PATH

    Now log out and log back in. Then type "echo $PATH" from a terminal to see the order of executables. This way, you can give a priority to j2re instead of libgcj.

    Thomas
    if you follow this suggestion step by step you will be able to install LimeWire. Open terminal and type:
    Code:
     sh LimeWireLinux.bin
    and you will get and intallation prompt:
    [imdeemvp@myfc3 FC3]$ sh LimeWireLinux.bin
    Preparing to install...
    tail: `-1' option is obsolete; use `-n 1'
    Try `tail --help' for more information.
    LimeWireLinux.bin: line 326: [: `)' expected, found -z
    WARNING! The amount of /tmp disk space required and/or available
    could not be determined. The installation will be attempted anyway.
    Extracting the installation resources from the installer archive...
    Configuring the installer for this system's environment...

    Launching installer...

    Warning: Cannot convert string "-b&h-lucida-medium-r-normal-sans-*-140-*-*-p-*-iso8859-1" to type FontStruct
    1. Click OK on first option.
    2. Click NEXT on the limewire installer.
    3. And continue to click NEXT until you get to installation and click on INSTALL if you are ok with the path of your folders. If not change the path yourselt. I suggest let limewire do it for you.
    4. Click on DONE and enjoy.
    5. Get your limewire icon from www.kde-look.org and create your launcher and for command use runLimeWire
    The purpose of this was to do a benchmark with all three p2p's and in 1st place was LimeWire, 2nd GTK-Gnutella and 3rd was for amule.
    See screenshots of installation:
    screenshot 1 screenshot 2 screenshot 3 screenshot 4 screenshot 5

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    /earth/europe/greece/patras
    Posts
    2

    Yum doesn't download nor amule nor gtk-gnutella...

    I tried to download and install with yum both amule and gtk-gnutella, but i get the same message twice:
    Code:
     No Match for Argument (either amule or gtk-gnutella)
    Nothing to do
    What should I do to download them?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie imdeemvp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    225
    Did you setup your repos?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    24
    I have the jre1.5.0 install, since that's what Firefox 1.0 requires if Java is wanted to be used. Do I just change it from j2re1.4.2 to jre1.5.0?

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie imdeemvp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    225
    I dont see why not you are just using a different version. I use the latest version.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    /earth/europe/greece/patras
    Posts
    2
    ok, i'll watch the repos later...using your tutorial...now my linux box is down due to win2000!damn!thank you anyway!

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1
    Thankyou for all your help with that problem with my JVM its been driving me nuts for the last few days glad 2 find your thread now im all signed up and ready 2 go here you where an awsome help!
    Thanks

  8. #8
    Linux User gassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    292
    y do i have to install LimeWire to home y cant i install it with root??? it just dont make any sense to me to install programs to my home dir. although i do see this alot with linux it wants to install to the home dir.
    If we couldn't laugh we would all go insane--Jimmy Buffett


    Registered Linux user # 376962

  9. #9
    Linux User gassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    292
    y do i have to install LimeWire to home y cant i install it with root??? it just dont make any sense to me to install programs to my home dir. although i do see this alot with linux it wants to install to the home dir.
    If we couldn't laugh we would all go insane--Jimmy Buffett


    Registered Linux user # 376962

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Quote Originally Posted by powhitetrash
    y do i have to install LimeWire to home y cant i install it with root??? it just dont make any sense to me to install programs to my home dir. although i do see this alot with linux it wants to install to the home dir.
    The "Home" directory, is the one directory that you have absolute power over. Usualy, to install a program that will be available to every user on the system, Root will install it somewhere like "/usr/local/share/" And then have a link in all users for that applications. The user your login, doest have these access... *nix, Is a system based on Admin/User. User can do whatever they want in there own directory thats it.

    If you want to install a program in a diferetn place then /home, then
    Code:
    su
    and install the application where you want it to be...
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •