Find the answer to your Linux question:
NOTE : if you read the tutorial and are still experiencing difficulties and would like help, you are asked to start a new topic on the forums . Please do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Uninstalling Linux

NOTE: if you read the tutorial and are still experiencing difficulties and would like help, you are asked to start a new topic on the forums.
    Please do NOT reply to this thread to ask a technical question. Replies to THIS thread should be corrections and enhancements on the tutorial/howto only.
    Thanks in advance for your co-operation.
    LinuxForums.org

------------------------------------------

Hi,

In this HOW-TO i'm going to try to explain how to uninstall linux without messing up your windows partition. I feel this is a area that isn't really touched upon that much and most newbies need help with it. I know when I was a noob I didn't like linux because I hadn't knew how to uninstall it. But now I feel I know enough to write a tutorial on how to do it and explain the steps.

1. Removing Your Disto

The easiest way uninstall linux is probably from a Windows XP CD. Once you boot from the CD follow the instructions until you get to the part where you see all the partitions on your hard drive. You must delete all your linux partitions. The primary partitions you'll probably see are

linux ext3, linux ext2, linux swap.

You should delete all these partitions to remove your distro.

2. Fixing your Master Boot Record

Most people know how to uninstall their distro. But afterwards their presented with a black screen and grub asking for input

grub>