Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey all, Like my title says, i am a complete linux noob. I had done a little research and decided to install Mandriva, and it is working pretty well. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to Install Things in Mandriva

Hey all, Like my title says, i am a complete linux noob. I had done a little research and decided to install Mandriva, and it is working pretty well. I downloaded the iso file, burnt it to a disc and now im typing this on my new OS. But, i do have some questions. Although there is nothing exactly wrong, (internet works, IM works, sound works, video works) for some reason it just doesnt feel right. This is probably just me being used to windows, but I dont feel like I have the freedom to install things and play games like I did on windows. So i guess what I am asking is, how the **** do you install stuff? . Particularly games. Will the programs that I used with Windows not work at all on Linux or does it just take some working around with to get it to work. And alot of the guides I have seen on how to install certain programs are a little too advanced for me and I cant understand them. Also, I read techiMOE's post on installing stuff in linux and I understood it, but there was one problem I had with it. He says to use the /usr/local/src/ folder to save file into, and when i try to do this it says that I am not allowed to change this file. And, when i try and change the preferences for 'Filesystem' to remedy this, it says " Sorry, couldn't change the permissions of "Filesystem".

So, if anyone would be kind enough to explain to me in a bit of detail the basic structure of linux and how it works. Specifically, how to install things on linux, I would greatly appreciate it.

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

So i guess what I am asking is, how the **** do you install stuff? . Particularly games.