Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi all, I'm fairly new to Linux in general and have went from Fedora to Ubuntu to Mandriva which seems more stable but having some issues with it. 1. Cannot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

A couple of issues

Hi all, I'm fairly new to Linux in general and have went from Fedora to Ubuntu to Mandriva which seems more stable but having some issues with it.

1. Cannot login as root in gui mode. (Yes I know why it's not a good thing but I can screw up my system just as easy from SU in user) I only do it when SU options are overwhelming or simply easier to use in Gui mode else I stay in user. I know the fix for this etc/kde/XXX but it tells me permission denied. >
    /etc/kde/kdm/kdmrc: Permission denied If Mandriva 2007 spring did this on purpose it can kiss my Linux butt goodbye. While I feel it is a safety feature for those who may screw up their system, I think it's like MS big brother scenario if they completely stopped users from accessing it. I tried to set login in security configs too but it goes back to no due to the kde file.

2. I have a remote share while "attempting to setup a home network shared folder" problem is, I can't get rid of it and I am locked from it even using SU. This is another reason I want in in Root gui mode, just so I can try to fix this. It is most likely a bug but a frustrating one.

Thanks and much appreciated. I am ready to give up using linux due to a number of issues and hoping "as last resort" to get this sorted so I can remain out of the Windows loop.

Paul

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums.

1) Root logins are disable by default in KDE, and for good reason.

2) Can't answer this one.
    oz

Just Joined!

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    Welcome to the forums.

1) Root logins are disable by default in KDE, and for good reason.

2) Can't answer this one.