Find the answer to your Linux question:
For some reason, my monitor (Samsung SyncMaster 960bf,) whenever it's set in 1280 x 1024 resolution, the screen appears to be offcentered, with about a 1/4 of an inch of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux/Mandriva beginner here.

For some reason, my monitor (Samsung SyncMaster 960bf,) whenever it's set in 1280 x 1024 resolution, the screen appears to be offcentered, with about a 1/4 of an inch of a vertical black bar on the left hand side of the screen, with everything else shifted over.
    Now, I read that I should check the XF86Config file in /etc/X11 folder and make sure the refresh rates for both the vertical and the horizontal settings are to be inline with the manufactured specifications. The ones listed are wrong, so I changed them to what they should be, however when I clicked save as and wanted to overwrite it, a menu popped up saying that it couldn't overwrite it and that I should check if I have access or enough space (which I do have enough space.)

So my question is, why isn't it letting me overwrite the file?

You must have root privileges to edit any file outside your home ( /home/<your_id> ). Execute su command to gain root privileges.
    Execute this
    Code:
    su
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    I tried the "nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf" command into the konsole and it replied back with "bash: nano: command not found"

Also a new question, I tried downloading a tar.gz into my /usr/local/src/ folder, and for some reason I can't download it directly into it.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar