Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new with the linux os and I am having problem installing .tar programs. I would like to install winrar. Can someone please help....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How do I install winrar on mandriva 2008

I am new with the linux os and I am having problem installing .tar programs.
    I would like to install winrar. Can someone please help.

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Check this HowTo for steps on installing software under Linux:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...are-linux.html
    oz

Quote Originally Posted by alibani View Post
    I am new with the linux os and I am having problem installing .tar programs.
    I would like to install winrar. Can someone please help.
    you dont need winrar in linux winrar is a windows program u will need to use wine to run it any way tar files you can simpy right click and select extract to folder then read the file inside or follow ozar's link

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close

unzip a .rar file in linux

I think scrarfussi wants to unzip a file that has been compressed with .rar extension.. the uncompressed file may not be windows file but can be something like a document or presentation etc.

any help?
    dr_smit
    Registered Linux User # 442381
    You get life once....... If you live right, once is enough!
    Mandriva 2008, CentOS 5, Sabalyon..

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    If you want to extract rar files in Linux, then you need to install unrar using you package manager. You first need to go to easyurpmi and setup the plf repos for Mandriva 2008 and then do
    Code:
    #urpmi unrar
    Alternatively you can use the GUI package manager, search for unrar and select it for install.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by daark.child View Post