Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
I can't try it as I get this error Code: su: user chmod does not exist what should I do?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143

    I can't try it as I get this error

    Code:
    su: user chmod does not exist
    what should I do?

  2. #12
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Ah well, you need to do it like this (more or less):

    su
    <enter your root password>
    chmod +x firefox-installer.bin

    I can't remember the name of the installer file. Then do something like:

    ./firefox-installer.bin

    It should work.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143
    ok heres the list of files from the tarball, what file do I make executable?

    Code:
    browserconfig.properties  libnspr4.so*         mozilla-xremote-client*
    chrome/                   libnss3.so*          old-homepage-default.properties
    components/               libnssckbi.so*       plugins/
    defaults/                 libplc4.so*          readme.txt
    dictionaries/             libplds4.so*         removed-files*
    extensions/               libsmime3.so*        res/
    firefox*                  libsoftokn3.chk      run-mozilla.sh*
    firefox-bin*              libsoftokn3.so*      searchplugins/
    greprefs/                 libssl3.so*          updater*
    icons/                    libxpcom_compat.so*  updater.ini
    libfreebl3.chk            libxpcom_core.so*    xpicleanup*
    libfreebl3.so*            libxpcom.so*
    libmozjs.so*              libxpistub.so*

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hi - Do it to firefox-bin . Actually, that should run Firefox as you would expect with:

    ./firefox-bin

    Don't run ./firefox-bin as root. You may then need to disable IPV6 support in Firefox as I described earlier. You might also (at some stage) need to get Java & Flash Player support enabled. There are previous threads about this.

    I'm not on a Linux machine at the moment so apologies for anything which might have been slightly misleading. I usually install FF in my /home/fingal/ directory and run it from there.

    - fingal
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  6. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143
    when I try to run it, I get this

    Code:
    ./firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libmozjs.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    and when I try to make it runnable, it just goes to the next line and does nothing, as if I did not type a thing, just pressed enter

    what do I do?

    also I found a rpm, and I get this this unsatisfiable error thing

    Code:
    libIDL2-devel
    what do I do about that?

  7. #16
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Try doing the chmod thing on the file called firefox. Forget your rpm for the time being... The answer to that is to learn all about urpmi and setting up repositories, but that will probably pull you off course.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  8. #17
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143

    Unhappy

    nope, no go, again

  9. #18
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by Zirconium View Post
    nope, no go, again
    Oh bugger! Are you getting any error messages when you try to run ./firefox ?

    Also, what's the output from ls -l firefox ?
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  10. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143
    Code:
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 zirconium zirconium 5247 2007-10-26 11:27 firefox*
    and no, it runs perfectly, browser comes up, and I come here and see if theres a new post on how to install firefox into the system, rather than run from source

  11. #20
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143
    Hi, I'm decided to see if that false to true thing would work with Ubuntu, so I'm running from my Kubuntu live CD, and it worked, plus I was able to use the RPM from packages.ubuntu.com

    plus, many people use the Ubuntu distros, so my question is, would it be easier to go back to Ubuntu/ Kubuntu, as it would seem I have some how received a buggy copy of Mandriva?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •