Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi! I've just reinstalled Mandriva2008 from a livecd. On boot i go straight into grub>, despite of creating a boot loader with graphical interface. I've no idea how to get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    21

    grub without graph interface, help!


    Hi!
    I've just reinstalled Mandriva2008 from a livecd.
    On boot i go straight into grub>, despite of creating a boot loader with graphical interface. I've no idea how to get out of the text mode.
    Can you help me please!

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I was thinking that Mandriva used LILO for their default bootloader. Are they using GRUB now instead, or did you install it yourself?

    Did you try running startx or startkde from the command line?
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Do you get an error of any kind?
    Do these steps at the grub> prompt if no error.
    find /boot/grub/stage1

    When it tells you where it is, for instance, if it says (hd0,0) do

    Code:
    root (hd0,0)
    Next is the kernel command with the tab button

    Code:
    kernel (hd0,0) /
    Then hit the TAB button to get a list of files.
    You are looking for a vmlinuz file with something like -2.22 after it.
    Just use one letter or number and hit the TAB button again and it will be completed for you. After it is completed, put this on the end of that line.
    Code:
    root=/dev/sda1
    or what ever is correct.
    Next is the initrd command with the TAB button.
    [initrd (hd0,0) /initrd[/code]
    Hit the TAB button, look for a file with a .img extension.
    Use the TAB button the same way you did with the kernel command.
    Type
    boot
    Should be good to go.
    As you go along record the info you get for the kernel and initrd as you will need to put them into your menu.lst file once you are in your system.
    p.s. I got all this from Nerderellos grub tutorial.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    I was thinking that Mandriva used LILO for their default bootloader. Are they using GRUB now instead, or did you install it yourself?

    Did you try running startx or startkde from the command line?
    no, now it uses grub again. I saw your super grub post, might try that..
    thank you!

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7 View Post
    Do you get an error of any kind?
    Do these steps at the grub> prompt if no error.
    find /boot/grub/stage1

    When it tells you where it is, for instance, if it says (hd0,0) do

    Code:
    root (hd0,0)
    Next is the kernel command with the tab button

    Code:
    kernel (hd0,0) /
    Then hit the TAB button to get a list of files.
    You are looking for a vmlinuz file with something like -2.22 after it.
    Just use one letter or number and hit the TAB button again and it will be completed for you. After it is completed, put this on the end of that line.
    Code:
    root=/dev/sda1
    or what ever is correct.
    Next is the initrd command with the TAB button.
    [initrd (hd0,0) /initrd[/code]
    Hit the TAB button, look for a file with a .img extension.
    Use the TAB button the same way you did with the kernel command.
    Type
    boot
    Should be good to go.
    As you go along record the info you get for the kernel and initrd as you will need to put them into your menu.lst file once you are in your system.
    p.s. I got all this from Nerderellos grub tutorial.
    Thank you! i'm gonna try!

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7 View Post
    Do you get an error of any kind?
    Do these steps at the grub> prompt if no error.
    find /boot/grub/stage1
    it couldn't find, also before it was loading in stage2 already.

    well, i knew it anyway, so i tried hd0,0 first and that was ok until i tried to load kernel
    error 1 file should have an absolute path or something

    i tried hd1,0 the second hard drive, but it wouldn't find it.

    mind you all this if I set hd0 to boot first in BIOS.

    if i set hd1 i get grub error 17

    i'm gonna reinstall it once again. it seems the mdv grub needs double feeding not to error

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    21
    I've reinstalled Mandriva2008, so I guess its solved. I'll get super grub and try to get back to my data on Fedora.
    Thank you for your time!

  9. #8
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by karlsson View Post
    no, now it uses grub again. I saw your super grub post, might try that..
    thank you!
    Hey, thanks for the info. So, are they giving users a choice between GRUB and LILO during installation, or does Mandriva simply install GRUB by default now?

    Yeah, keep a copy of SuperGRUB on hand for all kinds of bootloader issues with Linux and/or Windows.
    oz

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    Hey, thanks for the info. So, are they giving users a choice between GRUB and LILO during installation, or does Mandriva simply install GRUB by default now?

    Yeah, keep a copy of SuperGRUB on hand for all kinds of bootloader issues with Linux and/or Windows.
    it's only grub now. not sure, i think for a couple of releases. I've never used lilo. I like Mandriva so far..

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2
    By default is choosed grub now and you can change it to lilo if you prefere as before it was lilo and you could choose grub.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •