Find the answer to your Linux question:
I recently installed Mandriva 2008 One on my laptop, a dell e1505 after having used the Spring 2007 One version for several months. Now when I logout from the current ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Log out problem with Mandriva 2008 One

I recently installed Mandriva 2008 One on my laptop, a dell e1505 after having used the Spring 2007 One version for several months. Now when I logout from the current session, I don't get the window that allows you to switch to a new user, restart or completely shutdown. The process just stalls until I hit the power switch and turn the computer off.

I am running Mandriva in a dual boot setup with xp pro but the logout issue wasn't a problem with the previous version , Spring 2007.

Has anyone else seen this or knows of a solution. I am fairly new to linux and
    any help or suggestions will be appreciated.

thanx in advance...

This looks very much like a problem with your login manager. Assuming you use KDE it's called KDM. Mandriva - I think - comes with a bespoke login manager for KDE as well. It seems that when you updated to 2008 your installer got rid of KDM, or changed the default settings.

I haven't played with this feature for a while, but you either need to:

1. Go into Mandrivas 'control centre' (Configure my Computer) and select a new login manager... or

2. Install KDM in case Mandriva deleted it.

With luck this problem isn't too hard to fix.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Just Joined!
    It appears that KDM is installed - it shows up in the list of software anyway.

KDM also shows as the default login manager. My other choice is XDM.

I am really getting frustrated with this distro. It is billed as being a good choice for new users but my experience has been far from that.