Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi guys `n` gals, Im new to this Linux movement but i am a little confused. I have downloaded Mandrake 9.1 ISO file & i have unpacked (is this the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake 9.1 Help For A Thick Person :)

Hi guys `n` gals,
    Im new to this Linux movement but i am a little confused. I have downloaded Mandrake 9.1 ISO file & i have unpacked (is this the right word?) the image file.... how do i go about installing it on my system?

I have been looking for 2 days to try and find the install icon but i cant find it at all.

Can anyone point me to an "Idiots Guide To Installing Mandrake?" because i cannot find any documentaion that makes sense.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Neal
    P.S. Please dont flame me for asking dumb questions

Actually the .iso file you downloaded needs to bo burned to a cd, but it has to be burned in a special way. You need to burn it so the cd is bootable, what burning program do you use?

Afterwards, you ensure the bios is set to boot from the cd-drive first (then the harddrive second), and you're set.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for that.

In the end i decided to go and buy Mandrake 10 Discovery, i have it all installed but now i have got the problem of getting my modem to work.

I know work on Linux but this one i have has a Linux driver..... but guess what, it wont work! Do you have any clues that might help me?

Altho i am currently looking around for an old 56k hardware driven modem but again im not having much luck!

I must admit even tho i have had a few teething problems with this i feel confident enough to say that the Mandrake o/s is by far better than XP! If i can get this mode issue sorted i dont think i will be returning to windows anytime soon.

Just Joined!