Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have windows installed in my PC. Recently i installed linux Mandrake (im new to linux) and after that, i cant boot with windows again.. my lilo.conf file look something ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problem with LILO. Windows dont boot

I have windows installed in my PC. Recently i installed linux Mandrake (im new to linux) and after that, i cant boot with windows again.. my lilo.conf file look something like this:

boot=/dev/hda
    map=/boot/map
    default="linux"
    keytable=/boot/br-abnt2.klt
    prompt
    nowarn
    timeout=100
    message=/boot/message
    menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="linux"
    root=/dev/hda5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount acpi=ht splash=silent"
    vga=788
    read-only
    other=/dev/hda1
    label="windows"
    other=/dev/fd0
    label="floppy"
    unsafe

Windows is installed in hda1.
    I ran lilo after save lilo.conf

What should i do to boot from windows again?

Just Joined!

windows boot

Hi!

I`m a new Linux user, but a couple of days ago I had a similar problem. Though I did a big mistake: I installed both operation systems (Windowsa and Linux ) to one harddrive, then deleted one of them! I got the message that : Error loading operation system. Lesson: Never set up two different operation systems on one harddrive!
    Whatever I did after that, I couldn`t make my windows run again inspite of several formatting and partitioning.

Finally, I got a software on a floppy: PowerMax . It is OK only for Maxtor harddrives. If you have Maxtor HD, download it free from the Maxtor homepage. If you run the "low level formatting" option, it may take a couple of hours to make your drive "like new". Of course, you will lose all your data on the HD. But, you will be able to mess it up again the way you like!
    Vico