Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
[root@localhost ntfs-3g-1.2129]# mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows -o defaults,umask=0,force Failed to mount '/dev/hda1': Input/output error NTFS is either inconsistent, or you have hardware faults, or you have a SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48

    [root@localhost ntfs-3g-1.2129]# mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows -o defaults,umask=0,force
    Failed to mount '/dev/hda1': Input/output error
    NTFS is either inconsistent, or you have hardware faults, or you have a
    SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. In the first case run chkdsk /f on Windows
    then reboot into Windows TWICE. The usage of the /f parameter is very
    important! If you have SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first you must activate
    it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g.
    /dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the 'dmraid' documentation
    for the details.

    [root@localhost ntfs-3g-1.2129]# ls /mnt/windows
    ls: reading directory /mnt/windows: Input/output error

    [root@localhost ntfs-3g-1.2129]# df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda5 5.8G 4.2G 1.4G 76% /
    /dev/hda7 29G 25G 3.8G 87% /home
    /dev/sda1 98G 69G 30G 71% /mnt/100
    /dev/sda3 161G 63G 99G 39% /mnt/160GB
    /dev/sda2 41G 83M 40G 1% /mnt/Linux
    /dev/hda1 21G 20G 783M 97% /mnt/windows
    /dev/sda2 41G 83M 40G 1% /mnt/Linux

    Dont take the sda in consideration, it's my external hard disk..

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    /dev/hda1 is mounted at /mnt/windows already.
    Execute this
    Code:
    ls /dev/hda1
    In case it doesn't work, try to unmount/mount it again.
    Code:
    umount /dev/hda1
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48
    ls /mnt/windows
    ls: reading directory /mnt/windows: Input/output error

    mounting gives the same error "Failed to mount '/dev/hda1': Input/output error
    NTFS is either inconsistent,....."

    I mean, I can see hda1 mounted somehow in df-h, but it's not mouted as it should be. I believe i have a Corrupt file system. what can i do ? can i use any recovery tool just to be able to copy my data ? it dosent matter if i have to format it afterwards.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Try PhotoRec to recover data from /dev/hda1.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48
    Thanks a lot casper, hope it'll work. i'll kep u posted!
    Adnanius

  6. #16
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Okk ! Do let me know and Good Luck !!
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48
    hi again!
    i installed and tried photorec, and it works quiete oddly! i explain myself: it recovered my data but it's a mess: it put the recovered data in folders called recup_1, recup_2, .... and renamed all the files like f872573.jpg, f6932124.mpg,.... also it cut avi files into several files.it didnt respect any arborescence. so im totally lost !
    do u suggest anything? another software maybe ?

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48
    if ur interested, u can take a look at this Linux.com :: How to recover lost files after you accidentally wipe your hard drive

    looks like photorec is the unique tool to recover from ntfs using linux, and the naming thing is a fact that i should accept!
    Hope that some day we'll have as much efficient tools as there are for windows.

    Thanks again casper (i can call u casper right?)
    I'll be seeing u around!
    Adnanius

  9. #19
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    I am also looking for better data recovery tool for Linux. I will let you know if I could find any. And yes, you can call me casper.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •