Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Hello , I want to upgrade to mandriva 2008,I downloaded the mandriva 2008 3 cd images and for some reason when I start my computer while the first is in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13

    mandriva 2008


    Hello ,
    I want to upgrade to mandriva 2008,I downloaded the mandriva 2008 3 cd images and for some reason when I start my computer while the first is in cd device it didn't start the installation process ,why is that ?

    another question : what is the difference between mandriva 2008 and mandriva 2008.1 BETA ??

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    What does machine display on booting up from CD 1?
    another question : what is the difference between mandriva 2008 and mandriva 2008.1 BETA ??
    2008 is stable version and 2008.1 Beta is in testing phase.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    It displays, nothing it just shows the lilo and when i choose one of the options it boots to it !
    I want to add that when i do
    #file mandriva...iso
    it indicates that it's a bootable file !!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Is your computer set to boot from the cd? Check this in your BIOS settings. Also are you running another Linux distro, because Mandriva does not show Lilo at startup (well the 3 disc set anyway), it just shows you a boot menu which enables you to select installation options.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    I have both linux(mandriva 2007) and windows xp installed on my machine!
    in the regular situation when turn on my computer and after a while I get a list of ... linux,...,failsafe and windows to choose from?
    when the cd is in device it still give the regular above options and nothing else !

    how can I configure the BIOS to boot from cd ???

    Thanks,

  7. #6
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    how can I configure the BIOS to boot from cd ???

    Thanks,
    This differs from PC to PC. When you boot up your computer, after POST (the black screen with the memory test etc shown before you see the bootloader), you should see a prompt or message that shows you how to access the BIOS settings configuration tool (usually you have to enter some sort of keystroke e.g. F2, DEL etc). Once you are in the BIOS settings, there is an option that you can use to change the boot order of your devices. Make sure that the cd/dvd option is set before the hard drive.

  8. #7
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by on.earth View Post
    how can I configure the BIOS to boot from cd ???
    Check the manual that came with your system. My own system uses the F8 key to let me choose which drive to boot from at boot time.
    oz

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    The BIOS is not the problem ,I just checked !

  10. #9
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    It sounds like the BIOS is looking past your CD-drive, looking for a bootable device, so maybe bad media or a bad burn to CD?

    Have you tried the disk on another machine to see if it works? That's the best test.

    You can check this HowTo to make sure you burn and boot the CD properly:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...ll-cd-dvd.html

    Be sure you don't make the CD bootable yourself because the ISO burning process takes care of that step automatically.
    oz

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    I burned and tried three cds (each downloaded again)...!
    I didn't make the cd bootable my self !

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •