Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hello, I just managed to install mandriava 2008.0 ... too starnge issues I face : there is no installed make tool although from the software manager it appears to be ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13

    mandriva 2008 issues, printing,scan, 3D...and many more!


    Hello,
    I just managed to install mandriava 2008.0 ...
    too starnge issues I face :
    there is no installed make tool although from the software manager it appears to be installed ???

    the gcc(g++) is also installed but not being able to create executable files ???
    the 3D option say that it need some package called mesa-demos, but without being able to install it ???

    locate does not work ??
    evince : command not found ????
    xine:command not found?? although all xine related packages installed !
    totem the same !!

    and much more that I sill don't know about ??!!

    any help please !
    what exactly can this version DO ??

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    211
    Was there any issues in the install. go to the web site it has a huge repository of packages and how to do things. Link is:
    Mandriva Linux One | Mandriva

    Are you running KDE or Gnome as a desktop?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    no issues !
    kde !

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    211
    Kaffeine is the KDE media player that uses xine. see if that works.

    Totem is the movie player for Gnome 2 - not sure on the support libraries for that. but check Gnome fully functional as well.

    evince - possibly not installed by default mine on Fedora 8 is not
    I use kde as well and evince is Gnome.

    I am suprised locate does not work I will think about that.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    well kaffeine do work ...
    what can i do to get make work !it indicate that auto-make is installed !!
    I'm not being able to configure my hp printer either ,even when hplip is installed ,further more although CUPS(appears as installed in the packeges manager) ,when using hplip tools it say it is not !?

    any help please ,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •