Find the answer to your Linux question:
OK, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Linux, so this post may give some of you a good laugh, but please bear with me. I have all three ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

10 won't install from CD

OK, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Linux, so this post may give some of you a good laugh, but please bear with me.
    I have all three ISO's downloaded and on CDs for Mandrake Community 10. If I am already booted into either Move 9.2 (which I am using right now) or Windows XP, inserting the first installation disc into the CD drive pops up an installation window with a link to "Install Mandrakelinux." When I click on that link, a dialogue box pops up saying the machine will be rebooted and Mandrakelinux will be installed.
    Great! That's exactly what I want to do! So I click OK. The machine restarts, but then boots back into Windows, not even acknowledging that Linux was supposed to install.
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't the Mandrake CDs supposed to be bootable? I'll clarify before you ask: yes, the CD is before the HD in the boot sequence.
    Am I doing something incorrectly? Have I provided enough information? Anyone else ever had this problem?

Just Joined!
    UPDATE
    ==============
    Weird. For kicks, I inserted the second CD and rebooted to see what would happen. It booted and started the installation wizard, then, when it realized the installation CD wasn't in the CD drive, it asked for the installation CD, the first CD, from which I had first tried to boot. We'll see how it likes my Winows XP installation... I'll post another update when it has finished installing so everybody knows how it turned out.
    Anyone have any ideas as to why the first disc is not bootable?

Just Joined!
    UPDATE
    ==============