Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
You did create a root user during install, right? You do know the root password? Are you able to log in to Mandriva in GUI? You said you are able ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,113

    You did create a root user during install, right?
    You do know the root password?
    Are you able to log in to Mandriva in GUI?
    You said you are able to edit but not save, "check that you have write access to this file". Only root can access/edit the menu.lst file so you will get that message if you are not logged on as root.

    Also, you said you 'can edit but not save', what edit or change are you making. Try Jonathan183's suggestion, that should show the menu.lst and you can post it here and probably get a resolution to your problem.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    oki please find below:

    timeout 10
    color; balck/cyan/yellow/cyan
    gfxmenu (hd0,4)/boot/gfxman
    default 3

    title linux
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz Boot_Image=linux root= /dev/hda5
    resume=/dev/hda6 spash=silent vga=788
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot initrd.img

    title linux-nonfb
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz Boot_Image=linux-nonfb root= /dev/hda5
    resume=/dev/hda6 initrd (hd0,4)/boot initrd.img

    title failsafe
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz Boot_Image=failsafe root= /dev/hda5 failsafe
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot initrd.img

    title windows
    root (hd0,0)
    make active
    chainloader +1

    thats it hope all this helps, i need to get back into windows to download a linux driver for my wireless connection lol. thanks!!!

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    Hi again Yancek,

    mmm root user, unsure. I was asked to assign an administrator password which i did, but not sure about setting up any kind of root user. I just followed the steps in the installation, it seemed to take care of itself really. I will have a look at boot options when i start up the machine, see if there is an option to boot up as admin/root user.

    By GUI, do you mean am i logging into mandriva with a graphical logon screen? yes i am if thats what u mean. thanks for you help.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    ok, i cant see any way to boot as root user, however i noticed that whenever i go into control center it asks me to authenticate 'root' with a password. so i am guessing that means i am set up as root user?

    within the menu.lst itself i am able to edit anything but it just wont save.

    i looked at the 'tune permissions' section within secruity of control center and noticed that nearly all folders have a red no access circle assigned and i am able to tick various boxes to allow write access etc but the OK button is grayed out. if any of that makes sense lol.

  5. #15
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,040
    Heres a link to a grub tutorial. There are examples for Windows boot in their ... I suggest you try modifying your /boot/grub/menu.lst file like this and see which options work. The makeactive bit in the code should be all one word.

    Code:
    timeout 10
    color; balck/cyan/yellow/cyan
    gfxmenu (hd0,4)/boot/gfxman
    default 3
    
    title linux
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz Boot_Image=linux root= /dev/hda5
    resume=/dev/hda6 spash=silent vga=788
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot initrd.img
    
    title linux-nonfb
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz Boot_Image=linux-nonfb root= /dev/hda5
    resume=/dev/hda6 initrd (hd0,4)/boot initrd.img
    
    title failsafe
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz Boot_Image=failsafe root= /dev/hda5 failsafe
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot initrd.img
    
    title windows
    root (hd0,0)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    
    title windows2
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1
    
    You already know the password to gain root access - otherwise you would not have been able to post the fdisk -l output. When you type
    Code:
    su -
    and enter the password the prompt should change from ending in $ or something else to ending in # - something like this ...
    Code:
    jonathan@jonathan-laptop:~> su -
    Password:
    jonathan-laptop:~ #
    Once you have root access
    Code:
    nano /boot/grub/menu.lst
    should bring up the file to edit. Once you have made the changes you want you press ctrl+x then y then enter - that should save changes.

    Let us know how it goes & post back if you need more help.

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    ok, i can now edit the menu.lst and save it, woot! that feels like such an acomplishment at this stage lol. now then, I added the above into the menu.lst. the first windows one did same thing, the second windows option presented me with:

    error 1: filename must be either an obsolute pathname or block list

  7. #17
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,040
    Quote Originally Posted by Barry Thomas-Brown View Post
    error 1: filename must be either an obsolute pathname or block list
    Can you post the output of cat /boot/grub/menu.lst again.

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    sure, it now reads (i've bolded the changes shown from the last cat):

    timeout 10
    gfxmenu (hd0,4)/boot/gfxman
    default 0

    title linux
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz Boot_Image=linux root= /dev/hda5
    resume=/dev/hda6 spash=silent vga=788
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot initrd.img

    title linux-nonfb
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz Boot_Image=linux-nonfb root= /dev/hda5
    resume=/dev/hda6 initrd (hd0,4)/boot initrd.img

    title failsafe
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz Boot_Image=failsafe root= /dev/hda5 failsafe
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot initrd.img

    title windows
    root (hd0,0)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1

    title windows 2
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader (hd0,0) +1

  9. #19
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,040
    Quote Originally Posted by Barry Thomas-Brown View Post
    title windows 2
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1
    You have a space between the (hd0,0) and the +1 on the chainloader line ... which might explain the error message.

    You don't have the Windows partition flagged as bootable & you look to have created an extended partition before the XP partition on the disk.

    I think you can use SuperGrub to mark the XP partition as bootable. If that does not fix the problem I think you will need to move the XP partition so it starts at cylinder 1. (ed: you can try restoring the windows mbr code using SuperGrub before you start moving partitions about - and make sure you backup user data first).
    Output of fdisk -l will look something like this ...
    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x199c199b
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1         894     7181023+  27  Unknown
    /dev/sda2             895        3452    20547135    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3            4031       14593    84847297+   5  Extended
    But you will have hda rather than sda, and hda1 type will be NTFS.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    22
    lol, only problem is i cant download supergrub without being online in linux. see my other post here:

    Mandriva Forum >> View topic - Linux NooB needs help with wireless config.

    so i guess ia m stuck. lol.

    if i uninstall mandriva, will my windows boot as usual? cos i could always download the relevant software/drivers and then do a fresh mandriva install.

    i am using my mam's PC at the moment, and this old beast doesnt even have a CD-RW drive so i cant download anything and transfer. it has floppy but i am guessing a formatted floppy with windows wont boot in linux so unless i can sort out my wireless connection in linux i am buggered. lol.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •