Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Ok guys, I installed synergy..(RPM) and I cannot find where the file to launch the program is...where does linux store these things?!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    105

    Synergy


    Ok guys, I installed synergy..(RPM) and I cannot find where the file to launch the program is...where does linux store these things?!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    running "synergys" (for server) or "synergyc" (for client)? (as per documentation..: http://synergy2.sourceforge.net/doc-user.html)

    Where it is stored depends on where the RPM was setup to install it, /usr/bin/ is normally a good bet.

    Jason

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    105
    EDIT:

    i run synergyc -f Dan

    and i get "Segmemtation Error"

    ?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    forget double click, you need to run a command - and specify a server name..

    Quote Originally Posted by documentation
    Step 4 - Start the clients (Unix/Linux)

    To start a client, enter the following:

    synergyc -f server-host-name

    where server-host-name is replaced by the name of the computer running the synergy server.

    The client should immediately report a successful connection or an error. If an error occurs you'll get a dialog box telling you synergy is about to quit; read the log messages to determine the problem then correct it and run the client again. When successful you should be able to move the mouse off the appropriate edge of your server's screen and have it appear on the client's screen. Use the mouse and keyboard normally except use the edge of the screens to jump to other screens. You can also cut-and-paste across computers. Currently, only text transfers between computers. Start the remaining clients.

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    105
    ah i saw the documentation just before you posted. lol.

    what the heck does Segmentation error mean?

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    105
    I got it working guys. I do have a new problem though (sorry )

    Obviously I'm running Mandrake. (10.0 Official) How do I log in as root?! I have no idea. And when I edit smb.conf I can't save it because I don't have permissions. Can I open it w/ permissions from command line? Anything? Thanks fella's!

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    77
    Open a terminal and type su. Then enter your root password.

    Then open the samba config file with command below:

    Code:
    vi /etc/samba/smb.conf
    Edit what you need to. Then to quit and write to the file. Press ESC then colon then wq!. You will notice the input at the bottom left of the terminal screen. It should look like this:

    Code:
    :wq!
    Then press enter.

    Armage

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    105
    Thaniks Man, did the trick.

    I'm sure I'll have some more questions in this thread later =P

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •