Find the answer to your Linux question:
I reciently installed Linux Mandrivia and i like it so far, but i have a couple of problems. The wireless internet isn't working. I'm a total noob so i know ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless

I reciently installed Linux Mandrivia and i like it so far, but i have a couple of problems. The wireless internet isn't working. I'm a total noob so i know nothing about pretty much everything. I righting clicked on the wire thingy on the lower right hand part of the screen. and clicked confgure network, then wireless then the first option witch is my wireless card (theros AR5413). it said it was unable to find a network interface for device.? I whent back and clicked use windows driver. it took me a while to figure out that i needed to install ndiswrapper for it to work.(or maby you don't ) so i downloaded ndiswrapper from the website. it was a .taz file. that introduced my next problem. I don't know what a .taz is or what to do with it. I know you can extract it, and i did that) but all i get in the extracted folder is a buch of odd named files that open in kwrite. I have no idea what to do or how to install it. I searched online but all i could find was long tutorials that i could not understand.
    one last thing. When i open konsole and type su to log in temarerely as root it will ask me for a password. When i try to type my pass word nothing happens. The curser just stays in one place. (Agrivating!!!!!!)
    If you have any information that could help me please tell me. It would be a big help. Thank you.

On that password thing... It's not going to move. Just type in the password and press enter. If you entered it correctly, then press enter and it should be okay.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

I would recommend you to download the ndiswrapper package in RPM format:
    RPM Search ndiswrapper-1.47-2mdv2008.0.i586.rpm