Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I downloaded an update for flash player from the adobe site. Flash Player 9 . I was trying to go to Oprah.com and it said it needed updating. So I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

trouble with flash player

I downloaded an update for flash player from the adobe site. Flash Player 9 . I was trying to go to Oprah.com and it said it needed updating. So I did it and now when I go to that site , the window that needed the flash player won't even come up and my whole browser "kicks off" after a few seconds. I tried to uninstall it and it says that I don't even have it. I am very new to Linux and I have not really tried to install anything using terminal before this.
    I have Linux mandriva, Mozilla/5.0, Firefox 1.5.0.7 Can anyone help me? Thank you.

Linux Newbie
    Open Firefox and type
    Code:
    about:plugins
    into the address bar, then check if flash is listed, is it? and what version if it is.

Just Joined!
    File name: libflashplayer.so
    Shockwave Flash 9.0 r115

MIME Type Description Suffixes Enabled
    application/x-shockwave-flash Shockwave Flash swf Yes
    application/futuresplash FutureSplash Player spl Yes

this is what I got....................

Linux Newbie
    Then you have Flash installed correctly.

Not sure why Firefox is quitting on you... does it do this on every page that uses Flash?

Is that the latest Firefox version available for Mandriva?

You can try clearing cache from the Tools>Clear Private Data, check everything except your saved passwords if you have any.

If you have any extensions installed you should try disabling them temporarily.

Also check to make sure you don't have any other plugins trying to play flash like gnash or swfdec installed.

NOTE - If none of that helps you can always try downloading the latest version right from the Mozilla site.

Let us know if you need help with that.