Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Friends, I am new at world of Linux. Downloaded Mandriva. Now I am finding difficulty with entheret connection. I am not getting internet connection. Can you guide me how to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation Help me with Ethernet connection


    Friends,

    I am new at world of Linux. Downloaded Mandriva. Now I am finding difficulty with entheret connection. I am not getting internet connection. Can you guide me how to change the settings. I am sure it must be something with ethernet settings.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    We might need some more details about your setup first, but if you want to try becoming root:

    su
    password

    Then try: ifconfig eth0 up

    That's a start.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    I am geeting internet connection but I am not being able to access internet. On the bottom right side it detects ethernet connection.

    is it related to my proxy setting?

    Sorry guys I am new to linux world.

  4. #4
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Can you give a little more info? In a terminal, type:
    Code:
    ifconfig
    Post output here.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by jigarbhatt View Post
    I am geeting internet connection but I am not being able to access internet. On the bottom right side it detects ethernet connection.

    is it related to my proxy setting?

    Sorry guys I am new to linux world.
    Yes, I've seen that happen before. My guess is you are using Firefox at the moment? Try using Konqueror to access sites for a while. There are some default settings in Firefox that can prevent access.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    I tried konqueror as well. I am getting both green and yeallo light blinking at ethernet port. Even It is shown connected at the desktop.

    I am in guest a/c so if config doesn't work. I do not get anything after writing if config to command prompt.

    sorry guys....need inputs

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    I got it guys ...it was problem related to IP. Had to change IP manualy

  8. #8
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by jigarbhatt View Post
    I got it guys ...it was problem related to IP. Had to change IP manualy
    Would you please give us some more details about how you fixed this? I'm curious, because you said you don't have admin. access.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  9. #9
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I agree with fingal. How did you manage that type of adjustment with only a guest account?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6
    Soory guys to mention you,

    I do not know how but I entered su & password. with the help of password I could config my ethernet.

    Please let me know if you have any further question. I am learning from your questions as well

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •