Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to linux and I have a problem with my grub from root partition which is where I installed Mandriva. My laptop already has an existing primary XP installed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

trouble with loadding Mandriva2008.1spring Ed.

I'm new to linux and I have a problem with my grub from root partition which is where I installed Mandriva.

My laptop already has an existing primary XP installed partition being managed by the MBR so I figured when the question to install in Mandriva to MBR or root partition came up, I chose the latter.

I'm kinda out of ideas of as to how I'm supposed to boot into Mandriva without writing over the MBR with Grub.

Any suggestion would be greatly helpful.

I do apologize if this problem was already looked into, if so kindly direct me to the page.
    ps I lack any info in linux other than what I picked up for 2 weeks trying to get this working.
    -matt
    Last edited by matt-persian; 05-24-2008 at 04:24 AM. Reason: unclear problem

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Install GRUB to the MBR and you should be given a chance to add Windows to the GRUB start menu so that you can choose to start Linux or Windows at system startup.
    oz

Just Joined!
    There is an alternative to using grub. Before you consider this you must realize what path you want to take. I whole heartedly recommend grub, but if you for some personal reasons prefer not to use it, I now present you with an alternative. This alternative is a bit messy, and you have a BIG risk of messing up (rendering your system non-bootable), so please think twice.

Now with all the warnings out of the way. There is a program called bootpart
    BootPart