Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi. I am trying to installing a package with urpmi but it never stops downloading and downloads much more than it reports initially.i ultimately have to cancel the process.This has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    india
    Posts
    47

    urpmi problem


    Hi. I am trying to installing a package with urpmi but it never stops downloading and downloads much more than it reports initially.i ultimately have to cancel the process.This has been happening from the last two days and in both the gui and the cli.

    Although my net connection does sometimes play the on and off game but that doesnt seem to affect the process as it resumes downloading.

    what could be the problem?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Maybe it's trying to pull in required dependencies.

    What package are you trying to install, and what desktop environment are you running?
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    india
    Posts
    47

    urpmi

    Hi thanks for replying.I was actually trying to download a p2p.I tried gnapster , amule and gtk-gnutella with the same results.I'll try again today.I am using kde 3.5.9
    It was atleast not reported if there were any dependencies missing.
    Hoping for a reply again.I cant do anything on my own here.

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    KDE is Qt based, so it sounds like it might be trying to pull in some Gtk stuff. If that's the case, it should be reporting what it will download. Do you happen to have Gnome installed, too?

    Maybe a current Mandriva user with more URPMI experience will reply with some clues.
    oz

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    86
    It should tell you what dependencies it needs to install and ask you if you are sure (telling you "this will use an extra Xmb of harddrive space and download YMb").
    What media are you using? Main, contrib or a third party one?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Hi - If you installed your distro from a CD, you probably have a very minimal distro. If so, installing some packages can - as others have hinted above - involve a lot of dependencies!
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    india
    Posts
    47

    finally

    hi
    i already reported how my rpmdrake program as well as the urpmi keep downloading what seems to be much much more than what was reported.
    It actually shows a lot of downloading on the monitors (karamba) even i have exited rpmdrake.
    But i was able to download audacity just to see wether it would work after again failing at amule and gtk-gnutella.
    Today it turned up with an error.See if something comes out of it.doesnt look too hopeful by the looks of it.
    Im sorry if i am bugging u guys without much patience but my connection is not that good that i can patiently test download.

    answers to your questions:-
    I do not have gnome installed
    I have installed the os from the dvd and
    I have for media sources- main,contrib,plf-free/non-free

    The "rpmdrake" program has crashed with the following error:

    Can't call method "signal_connect" on an undefined value at /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.8/Rpmdrake/gui.pm line 388.
    standalone::bug_handler() called from /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.8/Rpmdrake/gui.pm:388
    Rpmdrake::gui::ask_browse_tree_given_widgets_for_r pmdrake() called from /usr/sbin/rpmdrake:549
    main::run_treeview_dialog() called from /usr/sbin/rpmdrake:568

    To submit a bug report, click on the report button.
    This will open a web browser window on Bugzilla where you'll find a form to fill in. The information displayed above will be transferred to that server.
    Things useful to include in your report are the output of lspcidrake -v, kernel version, and /proc/cpuinfo.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    86
    If you do not have Gnome installed it sounds like it would try to install all the dependencies for GTK. Since most of these dependencies are on your dvd (I assume it is free or powerpack), it could pay to have the cd/dvd mediums enabled and the disc in your drive. That is really the only thing I can think of that would make it download what seems a lot more than what would seem necessary. What version of Mandriva are you running, I assume 2008.1?

    Second for your network trouble, this is pretty hard to diagnose, but have you tried to disable IPv6? Have you tried to tried to download the packages manually and installed them? (both gnutella and gnapster are part of the penguin liberation front's free pacakges, so you can browse to ftp://mdk.linux.org.tw/pub/plf/mandr...elease/binary/ and go to the correct architecture for you and download the package manually and try to install it).

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    india
    Posts
    47

    thanks

    thanks ill try to download the gtk dependencies and lets see what the error diagnostics tell me.....thank u.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •