Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm kinda new to Linux my problem is when I'm trying to run tshark on my server i get the following message : Running as user "root" and group ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Running as user "root"....

Hi,
    I'm kinda new to Linux

my problem is when I'm trying to run tshark on my server i get the following message :
    Running as user "root" and group "root". This could be dangerous.

what this message mean ?
    and how can I removed it from showing every time I run tshark
    I was logged in as root.

tnks

Quote Originally Posted by shlado View Post
    what this message mean ?
    It means you shouldn't run tshark as root.
    and how can I removed it from showing every time I run tshark
    Don't log in as root
    I was logged in as root.
    You need to create another user to run as.

More seriously though (and I apologise for the sarcasm above) it is a bad idea to run as root. root is your system account and should only be used for system-wide maintenance. It is a terrible idea as you are allowing any mistake you make to be serious enough to take down the whole system. One buggy application can kill or freeze your PC. Also root is at a much higher level than even Administrator is in Windows. Remember that most exploits execute as the running user, so if you run as root you are opening up your system to the maximum possible damage.

As general practice you should create an everyday user and log in as that. Never log in graphically as root and try to only run root commands using sudo or su -.

If any of this is a bit confusing please do ask. I'll be happy to help as most people here will be. Let's just call the 'logging in as root' lesson the most important one

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!