Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm just getting into Linux. I had purchased a Mandrake 9.1 distro from Mandrake over a year ago- (the full development pack in error- thought I needed it), and just ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

GOLLY GEE! DON'T DO THAT!

I'm just getting into Linux. I had purchased a Mandrake 9.1 distro from Mandrake over a year ago- (the full development pack in error- thought I needed it), and just recently got the time to put it on an unused machine, a Dell 300 mhz w/256 meg ram that had a dying version of W-98. Did my first and second install within 2 hours of each other. First went OK but I set the resolution too small. Went to fix it and the system locked up, 4 times. Re-install went ok, I think.
    I know a lot of water has gone over the dam in the last year or so therefore I think I should modernize w/a more current version.

As I see my options I can move to 9.2, to 10.0 or stay where I am. I think that I can probably go to a download site and trim up the 9.1. Maybe? I have just enough knowledge to probably really screw something up so I am hesitant. I realize that my system is marginal and probably not really capable of doing a lot of stuff but want to get as much LINUX exposure and experience without getting frustrated too much.

I could use some advice on my choices as to distro upgrade as well as what I should and should not attempt to achieve in the available packages. I pretty much used the default install so I really don't know what else is out there, let alone how to get same into my machine.

I've spent around 15 hours looking over the forums, here and other places and learned a little bit. I could probably give some of the questioners a little advice from my own experiences but at this point need the advice of the more experienced.

Any advice or other thoughts gladly accepted and appreciated.

Linux Guru