Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey. I'm pretty new to linux in general, and i've played around with suse, ubuntu, and fedora. I was wondering, for strictly desktop purposes only, is Mandriva good? Does it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Opinion about Mandriva

Hey. I'm pretty new to linux in general, and i've played around with suse, ubuntu, and fedora. I was wondering, for strictly desktop purposes only, is Mandriva good? Does it have good GUI interface, eye candy, powerful, etc...?

just a simple, yet helpful response would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by ghost202 View Post
    Hey. I'm pretty new to linux in general, and i've played around with suse, ubuntu, and fedora. I was wondering, for strictly desktop purposes only, is Mandriva good? Does it have good GUI interface, eye candy, powerful, etc...?

thanks!
    Mandriva is good for desktop and server, you make the right decision to choose Mandriva for your desktop purpose.

Yes you're right, Mandriva had a wonderful GUI (more than another distribution, i think),
    work for many hardware and peripherals,
    and easy to setup and maintain

As you know, Mandriva is the first linux distribution i had,
    but now i am trying to install Ubuntu hehehe

Go get Mandriva!!!

Hello - it works for me, and I love using Mandriva on the desktop. Earlier releases tended to be buggy, but these later ones (I'm using 2007.1) are very stable, and I have no problems.

Experiences of distros differ between users because of variations in hardware, perceptions etc., but it's worth checking out. The package management system works very well (essential in any distro). I don't use any of the 3D desktop features, but I haven't changed distros for ages. Good luck!
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

think its great also easy to use