Find the answer to your Linux question:
Now before I go and screw everything up and delete files I don't want to, I need to create a new user called "sandbox" to play around in and learn ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation Linux newbie here, need some basic help PLEASE

Now before I go and screw everything up and delete files I don't want to, I need to create a new user called "sandbox" to play around in and learn my way around. I think I did though, because it shows up next to "guest" in /home/.

Got any advice on how to do this right? Websites? Anything?

COMPLETE NOOB for linux. Need some much needed advice/help.

I need to create a "sandbox" user so I CANNOT touch/delete any files needed to actually run the base system of linux.

Oh, and another thing. Is there anyway to set all folders for this "sandbox" user I need to create or whatever so that I don't have to always have "access denied" message over and over again? I got this when I just wanted to put a friggin background on there...

Hi and welcome! It sounds to me you aren't signed in as "sandbox," otherwise, changing background shouldn't be a problem. Sign out and then back in as sandbox. If that gives you a problem and you can't sign in, maybe there is something amiss... Open Kuser. Open a terminal and type in:
    Code:
    su
    it will ask for root password. Also type that in and press enter. Now to start Kuser, type in:
    Code:
    kuser
    ...and press enter. Look and see if user "sandbox" is there. You might need to edit it for password or possibly create a user directory, but it sounds like you have that already. After editing in kuser, save exit out to kdm (the sign in manager type thing) and try again.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here