Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
HI i already asked this ,but obviously that post is made for other purposed ,and i did an error to post this question there, anyway now i want to choose ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tirana,Albania
    Posts
    166

    [SOLVED] How to change resolution from 800 to 1024 ?


    HI i already asked this ,but obviously that post is made for other purposed ,and i did an error to post this question there, anyway now i want to choose my Screen Resolution
    1024x768 but when i go to Configure Desktop ,i just see 800x600 as my maximum choice.
    Where else to change it to 1024x768 ?

    Yes ,i have a powerful VGA card 512 MB ATI radeon , i tried at ATI control center ,but there was no option for setting my monitor preferences there .
    I have had a 360 ,but it got the RROD
    No more XBOX, i turned PS3
    I had it for months ,it still amazes me!

    Never seen a bigger failure of MICROSOFT then the XBOX 360!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you install ATI Proprietary Driver? Post the contents of /etc/X11/xorg.conf file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tirana,Albania
    Posts
    166
    Yes i have installed ATI proprietary driver.
    Here are the contents of the etc:

    # File generated by XFdrake (rev 234840)

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Refer to the xorg.conf man page for details about the format of
    # this file.
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "ServerFlags"
    #DontZap # disable <Ctrl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
    AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse does not work
    #DontZoom # disable <Ctrl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx" # 3D layer
    Load "dri" # direct rendering
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option "XkbOptions" "compose:rwin"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "Generic"
    ModelName "1024x768 @ 60 Hz"
    HorizSync 31.5-48.5
    VertRefresh 50-70
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
    BoardName "ATI Radeon 9500 to Radeon X1050"
    Driver "fglrx"
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Monitor "monitor1"
    DefaultColorDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
    EndSubsection
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout1"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    Screen "screen1"
    EndSection
    I have had a 360 ,but it got the RROD
    No more XBOX, i turned PS3
    I had it for months ,it still amazes me!

    Never seen a bigger failure of MICROSOFT then the XBOX 360!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "Generic"
    ModelName "1024x768 @ 60 Hz"
    HorizSync 31.5-48.5
    VertRefresh 50-70
    EndSection
    Are those Refresh rates supported by your Monitor? Check Monitor's Manual and edit xorg.conf accordingly.
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
    BoardName "ATI Radeon 9500 to Radeon X1050"
    Driver "fglrx"
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection
    Replace Driver "fglrx" with "vesa".
    Code:
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
    BoardName "ATI Radeon 9500 to Radeon X1050"
    Driver "vesa"
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tirana,Albania
    Posts
    166
    Yes my monitor supports up to 60 , and when i edit with Kwrite , when i want to save the changes i got this error :

    The document could not be saved, as it was not possible to write to file:///etc/X11/xorg.conf.
    Check that you have write access to this file or that enough disk space is available.

    ???
    I have had a 360 ,but it got the RROD
    No more XBOX, i turned PS3
    I had it for months ,it still amazes me!

    Never seen a bigger failure of MICROSOFT then the XBOX 360!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You must have root privileges to edit any file outside your /home/user_id folder.
    Press Alt+F2 and type this
    Code:
    kdesu kate  /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tirana,Albania
    Posts
    166
    I did that and edited the file ,by replacing flgrx with vesa , saved it.
    Still nothing happened ?????
    I have had a 360 ,but it got the RROD
    No more XBOX, i turned PS3
    I had it for months ,it still amazes me!

    Never seen a bigger failure of MICROSOFT then the XBOX 360!

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "Generic"
    ModelName "1024x768 @ 60 Hz"
    HorizSync 31.5-48.5
    VertRefresh 50-70

    EndSection
    Have you set Refresh Rates supported by your Monitor? Check Monitor's Manual.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tirana,Albania
    Posts
    166
    I know it support 60 , so how should i change the refresh rates, what number should i replace with what ?
    I have had a 360 ,but it got the RROD
    No more XBOX, i turned PS3
    I had it for months ,it still amazes me!

    Never seen a bigger failure of MICROSOFT then the XBOX 360!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Try these :
    Code:
    HorizSync 31 - 70 
    VertRefresh 50 - 120
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •