Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
hi Friends, i've installed mandriva spring edition on my system along with windows xp. after installition, it was working fine but i was not able to boot xp. mistakenly i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1

    dual boot system..


    hi Friends,
    i've installed mandriva spring edition on my system along with windows xp.
    after installition, it was working fine but i was not able to boot xp. mistakenly i reinstalled xp and now i can't boot from linux.
    both OS r installed in different partitions.
    how i can boot from mandriva without re-installing it.
    plz help me....
    thanks in advance...

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Welcome to the forums!

    Try using the SuperGRUB LiveCD to fix your bootloader.
    oz

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    AFAIK, there is an option for GRUB re-install in Mandriva installation CD/DVD. I would suggest you to boot up from Installation CD/DVD and select that option to re-install GRUB, if any.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1
    I've had a similar problem - and it hinges on a 160gb external USB HD attached when I initially installed Mandriva. If I remove the USB HD and use the "repair grub" from the install disk, it DID work, however, when I re-attach the external USB HD, it get that dreaded Grub error 22 and it stops dead. Presently, I am reformating the external HD, hoping that there was something installed on the disk by Mandriva. If that doesn't fix the problem, I may just have to delete Mandriva entirely. By the way, I triple boot - Win 98, Win XP and Mandriva. Mandriva is on its own drive (secondary).

    Let me know in case you need more info.
    Bill

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    10
    Can someone help ?

    I have on my laptop 2 system's. Windows Vista and Mandriva, Vista instaled first. Now i can't boot Vista, because vista in not an option at boot. What can i do, because i do not want to loss vista system.

    I am new in linux and sorry for mistakes, but i am not wery well in english .

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,115
    It's not clear from your post if you can boot Mandriva but, I will assume you can. If so, log in to a terminal in Mandriva and run the command: fdisk -l (that's a lower case Letter L) and post the output. Also from the terminal as root, navigate to the menu.lst file: cat /boot/grub/menu.lst and post the entry for vista. This information will enable someone to explain how to get your vista to boot, assuming there are no other unknown problems?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    10
    Yes i boot mandriva normaly. I assume you think "konsole", when you say "terminal" ?
    Sorry but i don't know how to type those command in ..
    YANCEK please help, i need more detail's what to do.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Open Konsole or Terminal and type this
    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    Post output here.

    * Its small L in fdisk -l.

    Post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst file too.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Open Konsole or Terminal and type this
    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    Post output here.

    * Its small L in fdisk -l.

    Post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst file too.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks for help, but i find the other way to fix it.

    menu/tools/system tools/configure your computer/

    there you chose "BOOT" and "Set up boot system"

    Bootleader to use : you chose your HDD and click NEXT

    click ADD and chose "other OS, WINDOWS"

    and then you must selest the particion of windows

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •