Find the answer to your Linux question:
So, I have installed Mandriva, quite painless. I now have a small partition, 8.4GB that appears to have Mandriva on it, a 29GB partition with my user and guest files, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

newbie needs some help

So, I have installed Mandriva, quite painless. I now have a small partition, 8.4GB that appears to have Mandriva on it, a 29GB partition with my user and guest files, and my windows partition, about 280GB.

I noticed that on the last reboot after I installed Mandriva, that the only choices I have on boot are for Mandriva and the Mandriva Safe Mode. I'm guessing I need to somehow tell linux that I would like Vista as a choice in the boot menu?

Next, since I can see my windows partition, is there anyway I can run programs installed there? I'm guessing no, but I'm a complete newbie, I decided early this afternoon that I was going to install linux, and here I am, at 11:15pm, with Mandriva installed.

Once I'm confident that I can get some of the games I want to install to run in Linux, I was planning on wiping the windows partition and using that as my gaming install partition. But first, can I install things on Linux to the windows partition right now, with Vista still installed there, or do I need to wipe it first before I install things to it in Linux?

Thanks for the help in advance, I think I'm going to be around for a few weeks getting the hang of this.

Linux Newbie
    Linux has no problem coexisting with windows. On the other hand windows do their best to screw interoperability(from windows you can't see your linux partitions)!!

For the boot loader go to Mandrake Control Center -> boot -> boot config ->
    configure lilo/grub -> (or something like this, i use Ubuntu)