Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have: PCMIA Firewire + USB2 Card Maxtor 160GB Firewire/USB HDD (External) Mandrake 10 Both work together with windows, so it's not hardware I have a mouse plugged into the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Firewire HDD

I have:
    PCMIA Firewire + USB2 Card
    Maxtor 160GB Firewire/USB HDD (External)
    Mandrake 10

Both work together with windows, so it's not hardware

I have a mouse plugged into the PCMIA card, so it works with linux (at least USB does)

The HDD will connect to a USB2 port in the back of my computer, but I need both of those, so I can't exactly do that

When I start it up, the HDD shows up (/mnt/removable), but when I click into that nothing shows up...

I have searched, and found www.linux1394.org, forget which, but that seems a little over my head (i'm a newbie)

Thanks
    -palmer

try opening a shell and logging in as root, then acessing the drive by
    cd /mnt/removable
    Also, is the drive in a linux readable FS? if its in ntfs, it might be a little sketchy, and your kernel might not have support for it installed.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

Formerly Known as qub333

Just Joined!
    hi palmem,

same problem here, did you manage to work it out? how?

FS in my drive is NTFS, but there is no problem in reading that as I have a windows partition with the same FS and I can access it.

I'm a newbie too, so ANY help would be really appreciated.

Just Joined!
    Already tried loggin in as root and checking it out...

It's FAT32

-palmer

Just Joined!
    anyone?

Just Joined!

no Firewire for a USB/Firewire device either