Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi.. Does anybody know how its this possible ? I have in my computer 2GB of RAM, but at system information i found this: "Total memory (RAM): 884,3MB" ??? I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    10

    Size of memory (RAM)


    Hi..

    Does anybody know how its this possible ?
    I have in my computer 2GB of RAM, but at system information i found this: "Total memory (RAM): 884,3MB" ???

    I attach a screenshot.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    df -h
    free
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    10
    I executed the code, but it's not changed anything.
    See the attach file (terminal.jpg), and please tell me if i did something wrong.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    10

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    10
    OK, To switch from the kernel-desktop586 build to the kernel-desktop build, use the following procedure. First set up the official online software repositories, following the instructions here (Installing and removing software - Mandriva Community Wiki)

    I went true this 7 steps. But I do not understand what I must do next and how to ? →

    (Then install all packages of the form (driver)-kernel-desktop-latest, where (driver) is one of the drivers in the list above that you believe is installed on your system. For instance,)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    10
    Launch the Software Manager (Install & Remove Software in the main menu)
    Change the first filter on the left to "All" instead of "Packages with GUI"
    In the search box type kernel-desktop-latest and hit Enter
    Select for installation the packages which correspond to the packages in the list that you posted (the difference will be that 586 is not present in the names of the packages that you should select).
    Click on Apply
    When the packages have been downloaded and installed, re-boot your system
    If all has gone well, your system should now recognize the full amount of your RAM.

    Jim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •