Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been using Mandriva for a few years now, and decided I finally need to bite the bullet and dual boot with XP, as uni requires me to use some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual boot issues

I've been using Mandriva for a few years now, and decided I finally need to bite the bullet and dual boot with XP, as uni requires me to use some win stuff that runs horridly under wine.

So, a fresh XP install went fine, using only a small part of the drive, and then I booted with Mandriva 2008.1 live cd and installed - this is where I noticed things looking funny. Firstly, it started creating the partitions as sda1 etc, instead of hda1. Is this a problem?

Anyway, install finishes, I go to boot to windows and it gives me the bl**dy bloo screen. I start remembering why I stopped using it in the first place! (I could boot to windows fine before mandriva went on).

Error being STOP! 0x0000007B. Blah blah blah, damaged disc etc. Can boot to mandriva perfectly fine, just not windows.

Windows part of boot menu reads (i;m using grub):

title windows
    root (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

Can anyone assist with my annoying problem? Suggest a cure, or something I've done wrong? Looking up the windows troubleshooting with the error code proved pointless.

Thanks

Just Joined!
    While I can not offer a solution to your problems, I can inform you that there is nothing wrong with installing to sda, hda is IDE disks, you probably have SATA or SCSI (SATA I'd imagine), and linux calls these disks sda, sdb, etc.

As for your windows problem, sounds like something went wrong during install, I'd install windows again, and then re-install linux. Most likly sda1 is your windows partition, so you'd want to leave that one alone.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for clearing up the sda issue - it is a SATA drive.