Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Errr, sound in Firefox isn't working! It works in other apps, but not in Firefox or Konqueor. My Sound cards are: Sound Blaster AudioPCI128 (Module: ‎es1371) (in use) and VT8233 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363

    Sound in Firefox


    Errr, sound in Firefox isn't working! It works in other apps, but not in Firefox or Konqueor. My Sound cards are: Sound Blaster AudioPCI128 (Module: ‎es1371) (in use) and VT8233 [AC97 Audio Controller] (‎snd-via82xx). Any help would be great!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    In what way would you expect sound to work in a browser?

    Also what desktop you using?
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  3. #3
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    I mean sound like in flash or background sounds, or streaming videos/audio. i'm using KDE.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    58
    Does flash work at all? If it doesn't work at all you need to install the appropriate plugin.

    What version of Firefox are you using?

  5. #5
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    ya i can watch flash or anything similar, but none of the sound works for any of my plugins. I'm using firefox 0.9.3

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    58
    Have you double checked the KMix options? To open KMix, click on the blue speaker in the lower right corner of the screen. It is in the panel. Make sure none of the green radio buttons are shaded.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    58
    I know that's basic, but sometimes the simple things are easy to overlook.

  8. #8
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    i've fooled around with kmix, that didn't solve my problem.

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Just seen a post on dropline forums with the same prob as you.

    They say starting the esd sound server sorted the problem.

    Can you try that on your system, if you have it installed that is?
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •