Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Hey there all I'm having an issue with Mandriva 2009 Kde4, whichs consists in the fact that I have no login screen and I have to log in and shutdown ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Medellín, Colombia
    Posts
    10

    Login screen dissapeared


    Hey there all
    I'm having an issue with Mandriva 2009 Kde4, whichs consists in the fact that I have no login screen and I have to log in and shutdown my laptop from a shell. I also have to hit 'startx' everytime I turn my computer on in order to get Mandriva started. All this came up right after I had to install an nVidia beta driver from drakx11 for a GeForce 8200M G, ever since then I've been facing this issue which is more important considering MDV 2009 ain't have a shutdown button on its desktop so I've been just using shutdown command in the shell for some time now, which i don't thinks is very safe.
    ANy help will be apreciated
    Juan

  2. #2
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Hi, and welcome to the forums

    Can you post the output of the following,
    Code:
    cat /etc/inittab
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Medellín, Colombia
    Posts
    10
    Hey thanks for the welcome
    here is the output you request
    cheers

    #
    # inittab This file describes how the INIT process should set up
    # the system in a certain run-level.
    #
    # Author: Miquel van Smoorenburg, <miquels@drinkel.nl.mugnet.org>
    # Modified for RHS Linux by Marc Ewing and Donnie Barnes
    #

    # Default runlevel. The runlevels used by Mandriva Linux are:
    # 0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
    # 1 - Single user mode
    # 2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
    # 3 - Full multiuser mode
    # 4 - unused
    # 5 - X11
    # 6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
    #
    id:3:initdefault:

    # System initialization.
    si::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

    l0:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 0
    l1:1:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 1
    l2:2:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 2
    l3:3:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 3
    l4:4:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 4
    l5:5:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 5
    l6:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 6

    # Trap CTRL-ALT-DELETE
    ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now

    # When our UPS tells us power has failed, assume we have a few minutes
    # of power left. Schedule a shutdown for 2 minutes from now.
    # This does, of course, assume you have powerd installed and your
    # UPS connected and working correctly.
    pf:owerfail:/sbin/shutdown -f -h +2 "Power Failure; System Shutting Down"

    # If power was restored before the shutdown kicked in, cancel it.
    pr:12345owerokwait:/sbin/shutdown -c "Power Restored; Shutdown Cancelled"


    # Run gettys in standard runlevels
    1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
    2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
    3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
    4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
    5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
    6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

    # Single user mode
    ~~:S:wait:/bin/sh

  4. #4
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    You see that line near the top that says
    id:3:initdefault:
    Change it to
    id:5:initdefault:
    i.e. change the 3 to a 5.

    Then reboot -- it should go straight to a graphical login.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Medellín, Colombia
    Posts
    10
    Ok I went to that file in Dolphin and tried to change what you told me but it said I had no permission to do so, may be it must be as root but I don't know how to do it from a terminal.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Sorry.

    Do this from a terminal
    Code:
    su -
    <type your root password here>
    nano /etc/inittab
    After editing and saving your file, type "exit" to go back to being a normal user, and then reboot your machine.

    If "nano" isn't found, try pico, or joe, or emacs, instead.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Medellín, Colombia
    Posts
    10
    sorry but none of those was found by yakuake, i tried replacing nano for kwriter (just to try) and it opens kwriter showing an error it wasnt posible to read the file as i might had no permmission tor read the file.
    Also, to save the file from a terminal is ctrl+o, right?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Did you do it as root? (i.e. did you type "su -" as I instructed?)
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Medellín, Colombia
    Posts
    10
    Yes. I did, here is the complete output
    juan@localhost ~]$ su -
    Password:
    [root@localhost ~]# nano /etc/initab
    -bash: nano: command not found
    [root@localhost ~]# pico /etc/initab
    -bash: pico: command not found
    [root@localhost ~]# joe /etc/initab
    -bash: joe: command not found
    [root@localhost ~]# jo /etc/initab
    -bash: jo: command not found
    [root@localhost ~]# emacs /etc/initab
    -bash: emacs: command not found
    [root@localhost ~]# kwrite /etc/initab
    Error: "/root/.kde4/tmp-localhost" points to "/tmp/kde-root" instead of "/root/tmp/kde-root".
    kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/klauncher
    kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/bin/kded4
    kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/bin/kbuildsycoca4
    kbuildsycoca4 running...
    kbuildsycoca4(5123) KConfigGroup::readXdgListEntry: List entry Categories in "/usr/share/applications/opera.desktop" is not compliant with XDG standard (missing trailing semicolon).
    kbuildsycoca4(5123) KConfigGroup::readXdgListEntry: List entry MimeType in "/usr/share/applications/opera.desktop" is not compliant with XDGstandard (missing trailing semicolon).
    kbuildsycoca4(5123) KConfigGroup::readXdgListEntry: List entry Categories in "/usr/share/applications/mandriva-rfbdrake.desktop" is not compliant with XDG standard (missing trailing semicolon).
    kbuildsycoca4(5123) KConfigGroup::readXdgListEntry: List entry Categories in "/usr/share/applications/codeina.desktop" is not compliant withXDG standard (missing trailing semicolon).
    kbuildsycoca4(5123) KConfigGroup::readXdgListEntry: List entry Categories in "/usr/share/applications/kde4/Kontact.desktop" is not compliantwith XDG standard (missing trailing semicolon).
    kbuildsycoca4(5123)/kdecore (KService) KBuildServiceFactory::collectInheritedServices: parent mimetype not found: "text/xml"
    kbuildsycoca4(5123)/kdecore (KService) KBuildServiceFactory::collectInheritedServices: parent mimetype not found: "text/xml"
    kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/kconf_update
    kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/bin/knotify4
    kwrite(5103): Couldn't start knotify from knotify4.desktop: "KDEInit no pudo lanzar «/usr/bin/knotify4»."
    QThreadStorage: Thread 0x8d76388 exited after QThreadStorage 2147483645 destroyed
    [root@localhost ~]# kwrite /etc/initab
    QThreadStorage: Thread 0x8c73388 exited after QThreadStorage 2147483645 destroyed

  10. #10
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Wow!

    Try this (as a regular user, not root),
    Code:
    sudo kwrite /etc/inittab
    You'll be asked for a password -- sometimes the root password, and sometimes your own, but the erquest should make it clear.

    By the way, it's not "jo", it's "joe".
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •