Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Hi, I have installed Mandriva 2009, from the login screen I am able to login as a user. But how to login as a ROOT user from the Login screen. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! merin_83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    10

    Question How to LOG in as ROOT


    Hi,
    I have installed Mandriva 2009, from the login screen I am able to login as a user. But how to login as a ROOT user from the Login screen. From where and how i will be able to do this.

    Thanx,
    merin:

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Welcome to the forums!

    At the login screen, you can enter:

    Code:
    root
    ...then enter your password when requested

    It's a very bad idea to always login as root so you should correct the user login issue as soon as possible and login that way in the future.
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined! merin_83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    10

    Unhappy

    thanx yar ,,, but when I enter root, its cannot login as root.

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by merin_83 View Post
    thanx yar ,,, but when I enter root, its cannot login as root.
    You can check this HowTo for several different methods of resetting your root and/or user passwords:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...-password.html

    If none of those work, you might have to reinstall.
    oz

  5. #5
    Just Joined! Loy Glenn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Houston,TX
    Posts
    89
    I don't think you can login as root from the login screen (graphical menu). If you want root access, login as a normal user, then after the display manager loads, open a console and use su or sudo...Loy. -- Maybe I was wrong - out of the box you can't - try this ref..



    http://expert.mandriva.com/question/103001

    Loy
    Last edited by Loy Glenn; 11-24-2008 at 03:25 PM. Reason: more info

  6. #6
    Just Joined! merin_83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    10

    Thumbs up thanx

    thanx yar ,,,,

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    34
    You can try by making a entry a Grub during the boot where you may be rped in INIT level 1 which is root shell

    1) Choose the linux Grub value & Press 'e' i.e Edit mode when you first see the Grub entries after you switch on the computer
    2) On the statement which starts with 'kernel' enter value 'linux 1'
    3) Press 'b'

    You may be dropped in root shell with starts with prompt #
    and use the command 'passwd' change the password of the root and go ahead

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18
    Root login is not allowed by default into the Windows manager. There are settings you can change to alter that, but typically you would use a console login to login as root.

    After a user login, you can also su to root at a console.

    ...and su does not mean going to court!
    > su

  9. #9
    Just Joined! merin_83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    10

    Question

    I have been using su, but just want to know how to do that in GUI. I have seen in Configure ur Desktop - > Login Window Manager - > Unselect the Root for login. But this option is diabled ,,,, I dono wat to do after that ...

  10. #10
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    What is it specifically you are looking to do? Root login is disabled for a good reason. Root is the system account and should only be used to make system-wide changes. It should never be used as a regular desktop account.

    What are you trying to do? There is most likely a better way to do it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •