Find the answer to your Linux question:
guys i'm lost. i tried to install ubuntu 8.10 it stopped after asking me to choose the language and it was a too early point to stop at. now i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help Me

guys i'm lost. i tried to install ubuntu 8.10 it stopped after asking me to choose the language and it was a too early point to stop at. now i am trying mandriva and it did the same it never asks for anything just when i enter the Boot choice it keeps doing things which i can't figure out and then stops at a command prompt. i'm very new to linux os in general but i really want to try it. my pc is amd athlon x2 and the vga is ATI Radeon which i think it gives me alot of troubles with ubuntu but i don't know about mandriva. please guys help me pleaaaaase.i made a 20GB unpartitioned for the mandriva. i booted from the CDRom it displayed a Mandriva screen with the choice to BOOT MANDRIVA and others F1 - help F3 - options and so on.i did entered the normal boot choice without any change but it stopped at the black screen with a message appears every few seconds i think it is about the network something like the ping command in windows. it says martian at 255.255.255.255 that's all. and no graphical desktop .i am sorry for the way i am asking you to help me but i am really scared and started to hate that . it is two operating systems failed to be installed on my pc.so forgive me for my bad manner and please help me.thanks for your time.
    Last edited by darkyears; 12-08-2008 at 02:00 PM. Reason: more explaination

Just Joined!
    Here's a link that kind of explains what martian packets are: Martian packet - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

If you think your issue might be network related, try disconnecting your system from the network completely before trying the install.