Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
Well I'll looking for some answer. There's obviously still some trouble with the router settings. For example at me the command 'wget http://www.hitfeny.extra.hu/Utravalo2008.doc ' have downloaded the file....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Enthusiast minthaka's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mol, Vojvodina
    Posts
    556

    Well I'll looking for some answer. There's obviously still some trouble with the router settings.
    For example at me the command
    'wget http://www.hitfeny.extra.hu/Utravalo2008.doc' have downloaded the file.
    If you need a CD/DVD catalogizer, give a try to my program:
    http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show...content=100682
    Linux Usert#430188

  2. #12
    Linux Enthusiast minthaka's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mol, Vojvodina
    Posts
    556
    How did you succed to fix the previous problem with router. Could you check again the configuration. I have no ideas now!
    If you need a CD/DVD catalogizer, give a try to my program:
    http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show...content=100682
    Linux Usert#430188

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie Max2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    197
    It was set to only allow MAC addresses of specific machines. Once I disabled that it was fine. Except for KDE.
    Cogito ergo surf - I think therefore I network.

    Registered Linux user #481826 Get counted!

  4. #14
    Linux Enthusiast minthaka's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mol, Vojvodina
    Posts
    556
    Well, I'm not experienced with networks, BUT
    If I understood it correctly, you are connected to internet through the eth0 interface, which is connected to the router, isn't? And at the same time you aren't connected with your other PC's.
    Because it happened to me, when I've tried to connect two PC's via LAN cards I could not use my wlan0 interface as long as I was up with eth0.
    If you need a CD/DVD catalogizer, give a try to my program:
    http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show...content=100682
    Linux Usert#430188

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie Max2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    197
    No.
    I am connected to the router via the wlan0 interface. I haven't checked to see if I could connect to other computers.
    I tried Konqueror while connected to a different network, and that didn't work either. So, clearly the problem is with some setting in my KDE.
    Any thoughts?
    Cogito ergo surf - I think therefore I network.

    Registered Linux user #481826 Get counted!

  6. #16
    Linux Enthusiast minthaka's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mol, Vojvodina
    Posts
    556
    Take a look at this post:
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...b-adapter.html
    Maybe it could solve your problem.
    If you need a CD/DVD catalogizer, give a try to my program:
    http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show...content=100682
    Linux Usert#430188

  7. #17
    Linux Newbie Max2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    197
    No, I have a different problem.
    I tried pinging a site, and that didn't work. So, My whole systme thinks I am not connected, but actually it is.

    Code:
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"HUJI-guest"
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:34:49:9F:D1
              Bit Rate=12 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2346 B
              Encryption key:off
              Link Quality=54/100  Signal level=-76 dBm  Noise level=-97 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    Does that help?
    Cogito ergo surf - I think therefore I network.

    Registered Linux user #481826 Get counted!

  8. #18
    Linux Enthusiast minthaka's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mol, Vojvodina
    Posts
    556
    Quote Originally Posted by Max2009 View Post
    No, I have a different problem.
    I tried pinging a site, and that didn't work. So, My whole systme thinks I am not connected, but actually it is.

    Code:
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"HUJI-guest"
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:34:49:9F:D1
              Bit Rate=12 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2346 B
              Encryption key:off
              Link Quality=54/100  Signal level=-76 dBm  Noise level=-97 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    Does that help?
    That's weird!
    My "iwconfig" gives:

    Code:
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"MOHOL1"  Nickname:"Csaba"
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.432 GHz  Access Point: 00:0B:6B:4D:86:E7
              Bit Rate=11 Mb/s   Tx-Power:20 dBm   Sensitivity=0/3
              RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:65/100  Signal level:-54 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:-1193621184  Invalid misc:-1044337588   Missed beacon:0
    That's almost the same thing. So basically you can download things only with Firefox, and you are able to browse the internet?
    And at the same time your taskbar indicator shows that you are off-line?
    What about:
    Open Konsole
    su
    iwlist wlan0 scan
    Does it list your provider's ESSID?
    On some systems it is possible to do
    iwconfig wlan0 essid provider_name
    And after to do
    dhclient
    Anyway, have you using the ndiswrapper for your wireless card?
    I use to install it via MCC/Network Settings. It needs the Win-driver for your card.
    Try to find some article about setting up you wireless card, since a router should not be an obstacle if your w-card is O.K.
    If you need a CD/DVD catalogizer, give a try to my program:
    http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show...content=100682
    Linux Usert#430188

  9. #19
    Linux Newbie Max2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    197
    I am not using the NDISWrapper, I have an original wireless driver from intelwireless.org.
    Anyway, the icon in the taskbar indicates that I am connected.
    The problem is somewhere in the KDE. The router is fine, my onboard hardware is fine, the driver is fine. The fact of the matter is that any application that is not KDE recognizes the connection, and KDE applications do not.
    The Konsole recognizes it, I ran wget Google in the Konsole and it came up.
    Code:
                  $wget www.google.com
    --2009-01-07 14:47:35--  http://www.google.com/
    Resolving www.google.com... 74.125.39.104, 74.125.39.147, 74.125.39.103, ...
    Connecting to www.google.com|74.125.39.104|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
    Reusing existing connection to www.google.com:80.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: unspecified [text/html]
    Saving to: `index.html'
    
        [ <=>                                              ] 5,364       --.-K/s   in 0.007s
    
    2009-01-07 14:47:35 (752 KB/s) - `index.html' saved [5364]
    Anyway, weird huh?
    Cogito ergo surf - I think therefore I network.

    Registered Linux user #481826 Get counted!

  10. #20
    Linux Enthusiast minthaka's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mol, Vojvodina
    Posts
    556
    It has to be some trouble with proxy. Try to open KTorrent, then Settings/Ktorrent settings
    And open the tab "Special"
    It is a checkbox "Don't use the KDE's proxy settings for HTTP trackers" or similar. Check it, and try if it work.
    If you need a CD/DVD catalogizer, give a try to my program:
    http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show...content=100682
    Linux Usert#430188

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •