Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm a complete noob to Linux, but am glad to say that I have wiped Windows and have loved the Mandriva experience this far. How does one go about installing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to install tarbal.gz files?

I'm a complete noob to Linux, but am glad to say that I have wiped Windows and have loved the Mandriva experience this far.

How does one go about installing tarball.gz files? I figure one day I'm going to need to learn how to do this stuff, but don't understand the basic concepts.

Can anyone guide me here? I understand that for each package you download it's essential to read the install read me, but I don't understand where I'm supposed to begin running the commands to extract the package and so forth.

Hi and Welcome !

There are tons of packages available in sources and if your machine has internet access, there is no need to download/install tar.bz package.

Anyways, check this tutorial on how to install softwares in Linux.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Hi and Welcome !

There are tons of packages available in sources and if your machine has internet access, there is no need to download/install tar.bz package.

Anyways, check this tutorial on how to install softwares in Linux.

Thanks for the welcome!

Okay: According to the instructions from the link,

You'll probably want to operate from inside your home directory. If your user is (for example) username, your home directory will be /home/username/. For the rest of this section we will assume you have downloaded your zip file to /home/username/src. If you do not have a src directory, you can create it with the following "mkdir" (make directory) command:

Code:

mkdir /home/username/src/