Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
I found Totem in my package manager. Should I remove the libs? Common files? Just the Mozilla plugin or all of the above?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie Max2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    197

    I found Totem in my package manager.
    Should I remove the libs? Common files? Just the Mozilla plugin or all of the above?
    Cogito ergo surf - I think therefore I network.

    Registered Linux user #481826 Get counted!

  2. #12
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I'd try removing just the plugin for now, then see if the video works.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie Max2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    197
    Still didn't work.
    I restarted Firefox and the Totem plugins are gone but I still have
    Code:
    RealPlayer 9
    
        File name: mplayerplug-in-rm.so
        mplayerplug-in 3.55
    
        Video Player Plug-in for QuickTime, RealPlayer and Windows Media Player streams using MPlayer
        JavaScript Enabled and Using GTK2 Widgets
    I deleted the Real folder from /opt but it persists.
    On the other hand, the only files it wants to use are Real media files (ram, rm etc') so it's probably not that.
    Cogito ergo surf - I think therefore I network.

    Registered Linux user #481826 Get counted!

  4. #14
    Linux Newbie Max2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    197
    Here is the video I am trying to watch.
    Cogito ergo surf - I think therefore I network.

    Registered Linux user #481826 Get counted!

  5. #15
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    The above plugin is installed by mplayer
    RealPlayer 9
    File name: mplayerplug-in-rm.so

    Do you have any other plugins listed to play RAM and/or RM formats, that could be interfering with mplayer?

    Are you getting an error message and if so, what is the message?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #16
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    UHHH, Max, you need Flash to play that, but fear not, I have flash installed and it doesn't work for me either.
    Can any one else view the above link?
    I'm doing some research, it'll take a few minutes.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #17
    Linux Newbie Max2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    197
    I have no other plugin for RAM and/or RM formats.
    What makes you think it's Flash? I get a cute little blue box (brings back memories of Windows Blue Screen Of Death) that says

    Code:
    You must install the Windows Media Player Firefox Plugin.
    
    # Click here to download and install the plugin.
    
    # Or click here to view the content directly in your Windows Media Player.
    Plus, I KNOW I can watch Flash,I have the SWF plugins.
    Cogito ergo surf - I think therefore I network.

    Registered Linux user #481826 Get counted!

  8. #18
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Right click on the video window and you'll see what I'm talking about. I think I didn't see the above pop-up because I have all the correct plugins. It isn't giving me any error or anything when I click on something to play, but it never loads anything either.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #19
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  10. #20
    Linux Newbie Max2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    197
    I just get a black rectangle on the CNN site.
    When I right click that (and the video I'm trying to load) I don't get anything more interesting than the page source (which would be more interesting if I could really understand html).
    Cogito ergo surf - I think therefore I network.

    Registered Linux user #481826 Get counted!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •