Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Help. Another newbie I have an Asus A7N8X-E motherboard and although everything else works i get no sound. There are 2 things under soundcard Nforce2APU with the following info Vendor: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    28

    Sound problems Mandrake 10.0


    Help. Another newbie
    I have an Asus A7N8X-E motherboard and although everything else works i get no sound. There are 2 things under soundcard

    Nforce2APU with the following info
    Vendor: ?Nvidia Corporation
    Bus: ?PCI
    Bus identification: ?10de:6b:1043:c11
    Location on the bus: ?0:5:0
    Description: ?nForce2 APU
    Module: ?unknown
    Media class: ?MULTIMEDIA_AUDIO

    Nforce2 Audio Codec interface with the following info
    Vendor: ?Nvidia Corporation
    Alternative drivers: ?ali5455:i810_audio:nvaudio
    Bus: ?PCI
    Bus identification: ?10de:6a:1043:8095
    Location on the bus: ?0:6:0
    Description: ?nForce2 Audio Codec Interface
    Module: ?snd-intel8x0
    Media class: ?MULTIMEDIA_AUDIO

    Any Help is appreciated but I don't know if its irq conflicts or what. If it is I don't know what to do

    Andy

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    10
    hi,

    i have a a7n8x-e deluxe and expierence no problem at all!

    Do you have a a7n8x-e deluxe or without deluxe?

    i will post my data as soon as i can boot my linux machine,
    kernel panic isn't fun

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    10

    my data

    ok, here is my configuration:

    info about nForce2 APU:

    Vendor: ‎Nvidia Corporation
    Bus: ‎PCI
    Bus identification: ‎10de:6b:1043:c11
    Location on the bus: ‎0:5:0
    Description: ‎nForce2 APU
    Module: ‎unknown
    Media class: ‎MULTIMEDIA_AUDIO


    info about nForce2 Audio Codec Interface

    Vendor: ‎Nvidia Corporation
    Alternative drivers: ‎ali5455:i810_audio:nvaudio
    Bus: ‎PCI
    Bus identification: ‎10de:6a:1043:8095
    Location on the bus: ‎0:6:0
    Description: ‎nForce2 Audio Codec Interface
    Module: ‎snd-intel8x0
    Media class: ‎MULTIMEDIA_AUDIO


    hope this will help

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    28
    Thanks your setup seems to be the same as mine. I wonder if I connected the front audio cables correcly. I will disconnect them and try again. But I do get FaILURE when initialising sound

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    10
    fact is if you did wire them wrong, you shouldn't receive a error.

    so i think your driver is somehow messed up.
    While browsing on the nvidia site link i found a driver package which includes the soundstorm sound driver.

    maybe you can try him, i already installed it, and it works fine.

    post your expierence and good luck

    niels

    edit:
    my vga card is now officially dead

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    28
    Thanks again

    I installed it and edited my modconfig file and still no sound
    I get the following message on startup

    Error while initializing the sound driver:
    device /dev/dsp can't be opened (No such file or directory)

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4
    I'm just another noob but i have the A7N8X-Deluxe, also using the sound storm. i know in other versions of linux i had to disable the Nvidia NIC on my mobo to get sound... dont ask why.

    right now i have both onboard nics disabled in the BIOS and am using a different connecter for simplicity sake. after a while i'll go back and try to make the other ones work.

    also, if you dont have the NForce drivers they have on the NVidia site, they may behelp, aside from that... my sound was working out of the box, so MDK 10 defiantely supports soundstorm on some level.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    10
    exactly, my sound works also out of the box, but i have trouble to use Skype (linux version).

    I'm looking for a solution now on the skype forums.

    Used to call my friends via internet using skype (windows version)
    They don't hear me, and i don't hear them.


    Good luck

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    I disabled my network in the Bios and now I have sound but can't seem to get the mic working.

    I too use Skype and am having trouble. I can make 1 call (no voice from me) and then I have to logout and back in again to do it again. Let me know if you find solutions.

    Also any help appreciated on the Mic problem

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    6

    No Sound on MSI Neo PE 865

    I have an MSI mobo Neo PE 865. I get no sound. I have tried Fedora Core 2, Mandrake 10.0 and Knoppix v 3.4.

    On Mandrake 10.0 I also get "device/dev/dsp can not be opened"

    I think the MSI is using 82801EB AC 97Audio an dthe driver selected is snd-intel8X0

    So what exactly is the problem?

    What needs to be done to get sound going. Once on an earlier version of Knoppix I did get sound.

    Any suggestions?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •