Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi! I just installed my brand new Linux/Mandriva OS last night, a great disdain of my wife....but that's another story. The computer installed on is very slow and I want ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! mucus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    6

    Talking [SOLVED] Installing XFCE on Mandriva and other notes


    Hi!
    I just installed my brand new Linux/Mandriva OS last night, a great disdain of my wife....but that's another story.

    The computer installed on is very slow and I want to use XFCE.
    How do i go about this?

    On Another Note-
    Do I have to leave that boot disc in the CD drive?
    After I use it the first time is it installed? or do I have to use that disc everytime?
    Does the disc have to stay in the whole time linux is running? or can i take that out and put other discs in?

    That's it for now!

    Thanks!
    Mucus

    BTW
    I'm brand new, I use mandriva and my name is Mike.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    If you have installed Mandriva then there is no need to keep installation disk in drive.
    The computer installed on is very slow and I want to use XFCE.
    How do i go about this?
    Post your machine's specs here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined! mucus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    6
    hmmm...
    well i'm not sure!
    it's just a scarpped together pc.
    it was on windows me....
    - - - - -
    that disc doesn't need to be in AT ALL?

    (i feel so dumb, starting all over again on this new os)

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Open Terminal/Konsole ( look for it in Menu ), and execute this
    Code:
    free
    su -
    lspci | grep -i vga
    cat /proc/cpuinfo
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined! mucus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    6
    ok here's where i'm at...

    i got the "live install" to run
    told it to wipe out whatever was there before
    got all kinds of "nonreproducable" errors
    after a while, mandriva finally did the whole install thing and i got a message like "unable to boot to hard drive"

    what the crap?
    why is this not working?


    btw i think that computer is a 586... for what that's worth

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    I need a little more info. How much RAM do you have and which Graphics card are you using?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined! mucus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    6
    who knows
    this computer is scrapped, any one want a now working shell of a comuter?

    i'm going to ge ta new laptop, and i may want to partion it and install mandriva, in which case i'll DEFFINATELY need help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •