Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, Initially I had dual boot with XP and Mandriva, but due to XP problems, I had to reinstall XP, but when i did so, the GRUB is gone; I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! merin_83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    10

    Unhappy Problems FIXing Bootloader !!


    Hi,
    Initially I had dual boot with XP and Mandriva, but due to XP problems, I had to reinstall XP, but when i did so, the GRUB is gone; I have also used Mandriva CD for getting in to repair mode (and tried REINSTALL GRUB option), but at the end i saw a message unknow file format, even i tried to reinstall Mandriva, even then GRUB does'nt load; XP loads directly ,,, pls help

    Thanx,
    Merin Kumar

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Boot up in Rescue mode again and execute fdisk -l command. Does it list Linux partitions? Post output here.
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    * Its small L in fdisk -l.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined! merin_83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    10
    Hi, here is the O/p. for fdisk -l

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 1275 10241406 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 1276 19456 146038882+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda3 2550 8924 51207156 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda5 1276 2491 9767457 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 2492 2548 457821 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda7 8925 14023 40957686 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda8 14024 19456 43640541 7 HPFS/NTFS

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    Use your Mandriva installation CD, open a terminal and log on as root and enter following commands:

    grub (this gives grub prompt: grub>)
    root (hd0,4)
    setup (hd0)
    quit

    After entering each of these commands, you should have Grub installed on (hd0,4) which is sda5 with the stage1 file in the mbr pointing to this partition. If you don't see an entry for windows when you re-boot you may have to add an entry in /boot/grub/menu.lst file.

    title windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

  6. #5
    Just Joined! merin_83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    10

    Lightbulb

    Hi
    I tried that but then then I got error "Error parsing no" Erro no.27,
    I also tried using my linux and in rescue mode and choosing FIX BOOT . then also i saw an error message "unknown format".

    So I tried from windows, thru partition software, it showed partition table error, when I gave FIX, it screwed up, one of the windows drive disappeared

    so its all from scratch now !!

    Thanx for your help, will keep on posting some issues like this

    Thanx,
    merin

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    I tried that but then then I got error "Error parsing no" Erro no.27,
    Those are definitely commands Grub would recognize unless you entered a lower case Letter O, not a number zero?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •