Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey everyone. I am fairly new to the Linux world. I will be keeping Windows XP on the desktop, it is for family use. I am interested in a distro ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question Is Mandriva right for me?

Hey everyone. I am fairly new to the Linux world. I will be keeping Windows XP on the desktop, it is for family use. I am interested in a distro that will easily partion for Windows, and be a good duel boot OS for a Linux noob.

I recently purchased the Linux Bible '08. Thanks to it, I have tried a couple of other distros. Debian, Xubuntu, and openSUSE. Debian has been my favorite so far. I still want to try Mandriva though.

So, I have a few questions that I really need answering. While I used the distros I mentioned, while surfing online, I always noticed that I would have to install Flash Player, or Adobe, and any other media plug-in. I went to install them, but was usually unsuccessful. Is Mandriva any easier to use? And, I also play Age of Empires 3, the others that I used would not support it, so I used WINE to play it. I read in the book about Mandriva Spring. It seems to have pretty much all I need to make an effortless transition. Does Spring still exist? Or, was it combined into Mandriva One?

Any help would be great.

Yeah, Mandriva is good you can try it.
    The only thing i dont like about it, is its defaulted to KDE.
    but KDE is also good. but i prefer GNOME edition.

Many non-free addons aren't pre-installed by default on many Linux distros but Linux Mint will come with all multimedia plugins, flash and java etc.
    Never make any misteaks.

Read my Blog at --> Penguin Inside Subscribe Feed

Ok, that sounds good. But what about Spring. Does it still exist?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    If your interested in Mandriva try this link:

Mandriva Linux

If your interested in Flash 10 try here