Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Pease help, I`ve just installed Mandrake 10.1 and immediately encountered similar problem as I had had with SuSE. I can`t get to Internet. I`ve got laptop with Realtek ethernet card ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5

    Mandrake 10.1, cable, internet


    Pease help,
    I`ve just installed Mandrake 10.1 and immediately encountered similar problem as I had had with SuSE. I can`t get to Internet. I`ve got laptop with Realtek ethernet card and cable modem.
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    ok, was you realtek card configured properly?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5
    It seems to me as its configuration is ok. Basically when I installed mandrake 10.0 all my setting were made automatically and everything worked fine.
    I desperately seek help, otherwise I will have to change to XP or other Linux... Please

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    If you didn't specifically setup your network as one of the last steps during installation, then it's not configured. There would have been a screen allowing you to configure monitor, country, keyboard, network, etc...

    Go to MCC (Mandrake Control Center) and select hardware, network. Select new connection and follow the steps in the networking wizard. Hopefully, you'll be up in no time

    Hope that helps!
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    I have a Siemens -Fujitsu with a Realtek network card and have no problems with Internet/Network connections at all.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    165
    does
    Code:
    /sbin/ifconfig
    show that you have an inet address on eth0 ?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5
    This is outcome of isconfig command

    root@localhost kuciak]# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0A:E4:03:6C:FF
    inet addr:82.119.104.44 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.240.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20a:e4ff:fe03:6cff/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:26 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:9344 (9.1 Kb) TX bytes:2352 (2.2 Kb)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x800

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:82 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:82 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:5172 (5.0 Kb) TX bytes:5172 (5.0 Kb)


    Under Internet connection settings DNS servers have been identified as well as domain. Despite this Internet doesn`t work at all. I run dual boot with XP and under XP is everything OK.
    Looking forward to help...
    Thanks

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Do you have your firewall or a proxy enabled?
    What does traceroute tell you?
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5
    Firewall is off and I haven`t done anything with proxy so I expect there are no settings so far.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Again, what does traceroute tell you? Can you ping outside your network, like ping google or ping 216.239.39.99?

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •