Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
my Mandriva 2008.1 Spring was plugged into ether net but now is wireless. be fore i could set up printing with my other wireless computers using http://ip#:631/printers/printername . worked perfect. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    168

    print shareing


    my Mandriva 2008.1 Spring was plugged into ether net but now is wireless. be fore i could set up printing with my other wireless computers using

    http://ip#:631/printers/printername.

    worked perfect. now my main box is also wireless and none of the print sharing works. did my ip address change? if so how do i get to it to see what it is. please help. printing for school.

    many thanks in advance

    Bower

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,627
    Are running DHCP... that is, letting your router decide what IP each machine has? Or are the machines set up with their own static IPs... that is, each machine telling the router which IP it is to have? I can see how your router would keep assigning your print server the same IP if DHCP and then giving it another IP when wireless is introduced. Is the print server set up with CUPS print server? If so, open the CUPS configuration utility by typing:
    Code:
    http://localhost:631
    into the browser address window of the print server machine. Look under "Administration" and check the box next to "Share published printers connected to this system." Then, from the client machine(s) you should have your print server as a choice when configuring printing from the separate clients. Hope this helps...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    168

    printing adminitrator

    Ok the print program has share all printers. i think all i need it to find out my ip address. i am using DHCP i am sure. thanks for the help

    thank you Bower

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    358
    To get ip address, open aterminal and type the command:
    /sbin/ifconfig.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •